We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Quite spectacular hotel - large, but organized in a very convenient way. I had a room at the Pantlind side. Room was equally impressive, very nice and clean, with a good bed and nice bathroom. Rooms as well as the entire hotel had a nostalgic touch without being old fashioned or worn out, quite contrary. Friendly and helpful staff. Gym is very well-equiped - pool was being renovated at the time when I was there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laho_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel has two parts. The old part and the new tower. I stayed in the new tower but it is a bit dated. I cannot speak to the old part. The staff and service was outstanding. The hotel lobby seemed to be popular with a number of young locals. Room service was excellent. Perhas the old part has more character.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank lton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and friends stayed for the 4th and it was awesome! Tons of stuff for the kids to keep busy. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were nothing over the top but well maintained. Perfect views of the fire works and even received a late check out so the kids could keep swimming. Already booked another stay and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for spending the 4th of July with us! I am glad that you and your family had such a wonderful holiday celebration with us. We so enjoy being able to provide the added touches that make a celebratory stay memorable. I am thrilled that you have already booked your next return visit! We look forward to seeing you, and appreciate you sharing this review about your experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms were clean and well appointed. There was a mini-fridge in the credenza. The hotel is located downtown on the river with plenty of restaurants either in the hotel or within walking distance. There really isn't much of a shopping district in the surrounding area, but the hotel does have good access to the convention center and to museums. Check-in and check-out were quick. My room package entitled me to breakfast in the morning and cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon on the concierge (25th floor) level. The older part of the hotel had magnificent ballrooms and public areas. My only problem was a noisy group in the hallway and adjacent room after hours, but the problem was resolved with a call to the front desk.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the upper levels have great views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bess_A_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we went for 2 nights. It is a very beautiful hotel in downtown Grand Rapids. The hotel have a great selection of restaurants and bars, in the hotel area there are also a lot of restaurant options. Staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: not close to the elevators, that are very noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. I was there for a Convention and was struck by the immediate response when I used the elevators. Never a wait at all times of the day and night. This is a unique experience to me. Another big plus was the availability of a "Panara-like" restaurant in the lobby. The food was great, fresh and reasonably priced. The overall feeling of the hotel was of comfortable luxury. The location was also very good, centrally located in down town Grand Rapids right on the river. You can reach the Gerald Ford Museum by a short walk over the bridge adjacent to the hotel. My experiance with the staff was characterized by courtesy and efficiency from check-in to check-out

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of days attending a convention. Loved the location and nostalgic charm of the hotel. Our room was in the new tower so it was really nice with views of the nearby river and Grand Rapids Museum. We did not get to use any of the recreational facilities but it looked really good. Love the complimentary wifi. Staff is very friendly and always professional. Room and amenities were great. Love the little touches which are rarely seen now a days at any hotel. But more importantly the staff seems genuinely happy to be of service. To me this epitomizes the word hospitality. Great job. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were attending a convention! We know there are several hotel options in downtown Grand Rapids, and appreciate you selecting us. Thank you as well for your very kind words about our hotel - especially your comments about our staff. True hospitality does come from the heart! We are glad that heart showed through to you. We hope to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 48 in Grand Rapids
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 187 Monroe NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $228 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing