We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel that is showing signs of wear with tired staff!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel that is showing signs of wear with tired staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We love staying at the Amway Grand Hotel. However, our last experience was not as "magical" as the first. Though our room was clean, there were a couple hairs in the bath tub. The bed was hard and pillows (too thick) caused me to have a sore neck for a few days. The elevators needed to be vacuumed. I waited for at least ten minutes for the Concierge but no one showed. We left with a bit of a different opinion than previously enjoyed; about one year ago. The location is great but there are other options in lodging that are just as convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing this very important feedback with us. We pride ourselves on our high standards for housekeeping, but obviously fell short during your visit. We will use this feedback to help improve our performance and ensure these serious problems do not occur again.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime soon to provide you the excellent service you and so many others expect from us and know us for. We look forward to seeing you again.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    363
    111
    67
    41
See reviews for
213
364
44
627
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been in. Part of it is a lovely restoration of an old hotel called the Pantlind and that is where our room was situated. The room was large, airy, quiet and beautifully decorated. The three on site restaurants we visted - Ruth's Chris Steak house, the sports bar/restaurant and the coffee shop were all above average. Service was topnotch from the valet parking to the restaurants to the front desk staff. The hotel is centrally located - I was there for a quilt show at the Convention Centre. There are museums, an art gallery and plenty of shopping close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for the entertainment/pub atmosphere in Grand Rapids. It is near the water, near restaurants, near The Color Run start & end (which is why I ended up here), & is so beautifully decorated it was unbelievable! It reminded me of Old England style, but with updated service. There are grande chandeliers, stair cases that wind up & down, many banquet rooms decorated to perfection with chunky wood trim & super large chandeliers in each. There is a pub on site, not too pricey & decent for dessert (that's all we ate there) & drinks. There is also a pricey restaurant if that's your style, and the menu looked scrumptious!
It is attached to the Marriott next door by walkways, and during our stay the pool was being renovated, but we were allowed to use the Marriott's (which we didnt as the walk was too far, but it was available). If that's important to you, I'd check to see if the reno's are complete before you book the hotel.
The service was great all around. The rooms were cleaned by noon & they were quick to provide extra sheets & pillows for our stay. The beds were comfy too!
The hotel was impeccably clean, despite me not seeing a single cleaning staff member in the place other than our floor maids. Not a stitch of dust anywhere!
The night life the weekend we were there was alive & available, although I do have to point out that there were thousands of extras in town for the Color Run so I can't say if that's the norm.
There wasn't much shopping nearby...not that we saw anyhow. More of an entertainment district.
The spa was closed when I attempted to go, so I can't comment on that, nor did we notice "kids programs." This perhaps isn't the hotel for that sort of trip.
Hope this helps! The hotel really is beautiful!! I'd stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy16076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Metro Area
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm sure some of the other hotels along the river are also wonderful, but I like the Grand so much after staying here twice, they would have to be booked for me to try anywhere else. Part of the building is such a lovely old hotel, The Pantlind. So elegant & old world, absolutely lovely. Glad they incorporated it into the beautiful new modern hotel rather than taking it down. It so adds to the experience! Beautiful, clean, great service----I can't think of enough to say! From the guys taking your luggage at the lobby entrance, the clerks on the registration desk, we've had a great time. Very friendly & efficient. Only drawback so far is the lobby bar, lovely & convenient, never seems to have enough staff. Too bad, because its a great place to meet up with friends & have a drink, rest tired feet after a convention center event or out tooling around GR. Will be back!

Room Tip: The Pantlind Tower is maybe a little noisier. Try the newer tower, higher up for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and on the register of historic hotels. It is very clean which is a top priority for me. Good location in the heart of downtown. The downsides we experienced...our room had a view of the heating unit. Being a old hotel the windows are small and the rooms are dark. The bathroom has no ventilation so after showering the room remained damp feeling no matter what we did with the temperature. The pool area was under construction so we had to go to the Marriott down the street. But even with those inconveniences I would rate them highly due to the cleanliness and beauty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We parked in the garage and entered via the skywalk which leads into the Pantlind lobby. It was breathtaking at first sight! Despite it's size, we navigated the large hotel with ease and found every employee that we came in contact with extremely pleasant and helpful. We stayed in one of the smaller classic rooms on the Pantlind side of the hotel. It was very charming and we all slept wonderfully on the comfy beds. Although the bathroom was a bit small, it was adequate for our needs. There were several weddings and events going on Saturday night. We were booked on a floor with quite a few of the members of a wedding party including the bride and groom just down the hall in a Presidential Suite. In spite of all the celebrations in the lobby areas, our floor was extremely quite and we never heard a sound from the hallway. The kids were disappointed when we were informed that the pool was closed, but happy when we were told we could visit one of two sister properties (JW Marriott or Courtyard Mariott) to use the pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: When booking a Classic Guest Room, request one of the larger ones as ours was a bit on the small sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMartin45014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the best stay's I've had in a hotel in a long time. The historical upkeep of the hotel was remarkable and the staff was out of this world. The entire staff from management down to housekeeping made us feel like we were the only guests there. I will definitely stay at this hotel when in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobkn10ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing