We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
JW Marriott Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityFlatsHotel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,736)
Filter reviews
1,736 results
Traveler rating
1,043
419
144
82
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
419
144
82
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew towerruth's chrisolder parttower roomsports barpantlind hotelclassic hotelwolfgang puckold sectionwalk in closetvalet parkingview of the riverroom serviceconvention centerwithin walking distancebeautiful roomart prize
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,334 - 1,339 of 1,736 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Positive: Very friendly, polite, and professional staff. They exude a warmth that makes traveling easier. The location is also super convenient: walkable to downtown and attached to the convention center.
Neutral: The rooms are classic, not modern. This is a stylistic preference. Not what I seek out by I liked it at this hotel.
Negative: Rooms not very well sound insulated. I could hear my neighbors' conversations, ringing phones, and flushing toilets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad you took notice of our wonderful staff, who we are so fortunate to have. I am also pleased that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. You will be pleased to know that we are updating our Tower guest rooms this fall so you can look forward to a much more modern guest room experience on your next visit! You'll also find that the Tower rooms provide more sound insulation than the rooms on the Pantlind side - which feature more historic charm. We are glad to be able to offer our guests both room types based on their personal preference.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Amway hotel is the ONLY hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. It is absolutely beautiful with it's gold plated ceilings, velvet curtains and stunning flower arrangements. The staff was wonderful and had great personalities. Meeting rooms were also great and staff was ready to tend to any problems. If I am ever back in town I will be certain we stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lillian_6648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that our staff was attentive to your meeting rooms needs. Thank you for taking notice of all the decorative details we are so proud to showcase here. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Amway Grand several times, and I always enjoy my experience. Located in a central location to many attractions and restaurants, you can understand why this is considered a 5-star hotel. Its beautiful interior, many dining options and helpful staff make this my first choice when I'm in Grand Rapids.
Some of the rooms can use a bit of updating, but I think this is a great choice for business travelers or couples looking for a night out. I prefer to stay in the tower, which gives a beautiful view of the surrounding city.

Room Tip: Choose a tower room if you can
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked the romance package and were given a mediocre room with a poor view of the river. There were bugs crawling in the bathroom and the TV did not work. However, our dinner at Cygnus 27 was fantastic. I would go back only for dinner and the view from the top. The rest was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EJtraveler558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your romantic getaway. We know you have several options of hotels and restaurants for such an occasion, and are honored that you selected us. I am glad you enjoyed a fantastic dinner at Cygnus 27! What a romantic setting to enjoy a special dinner together.

Thank you as well for sharing this important feedback with us about your overnight stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered and will use this feedback to continually improve our facilities and experience for future guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime soon. When you do, please let us know that you would like an excellent view of the river and we will do our very best to accommodate you in a room with breathtaking views.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Amway for a family wedding. Everything was five star with the exception of 20 family members being scattered about in different towers and different floors although we were in a reserved "block". We finally had to make a list of everyone's location.

Sunday brunch - two of ordered breakfast instead of the brunch. The poor waitress mixed everything up from juices to which one of us had bacon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C-T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your family wedding! We love hosting weddings and are honored to have been a part of your family's celebration. We sincerely apologize for the situation with your room block and the unacceptable restaurant service you received. We strive to place guests who are staying in a room block close to one another. In rare cases we have to split them up due to room requests or other groups in the hotel, and are sorry that this took place for your group. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime very soon, and hope you will choose us for your next stay in Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews