We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Positive: Very friendly, polite, and professional staff. They exude a warmth that makes traveling easier. The location is also super convenient: walkable to downtown and attached to the convention center.
Neutral: The rooms are classic, not modern. This is a stylistic preference. Not what I seek out by I liked it at this hotel.
Negative: Rooms not very well sound insulated. I could hear my neighbors' conversations, ringing phones, and flushing toilets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with us! We are glad you took notice of our wonderful staff, who we are so fortunate to have. I am also pleased that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. You will be pleased to know that we are updating our Tower guest rooms this fall so you can look forward to a much more modern guest room experience on your next visit! You'll also find that the Tower rooms provide more sound insulation than the rooms on the Pantlind side - which feature more historic charm. We are glad to be able to offer our guests both room types based on their personal preference.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Amway hotel is the ONLY hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. It is absolutely beautiful with it's gold plated ceilings, velvet curtains and stunning flower arrangements. The staff was wonderful and had great personalities. Meeting rooms were also great and staff was ready to tend to any problems. If I am ever back in town I will be certain we stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lillian_6648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that our staff was attentive to your meeting rooms needs. Thank you for taking notice of all the decorative details we are so proud to showcase here. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Amway Grand several times, and I always enjoy my experience. Located in a central location to many attractions and restaurants, you can understand why this is considered a 5-star hotel. Its beautiful interior, many dining options and helpful staff make this my first choice when I'm in Grand Rapids.
Some of the rooms can use a bit of updating, but I think this is a great choice for business travelers or couples looking for a night out. I prefer to stay in the tower, which gives a beautiful view of the surrounding city.

Room Tip: Choose a tower room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked the romance package and were given a mediocre room with a poor view of the river. There were bugs crawling in the bathroom and the TV did not work. However, our dinner at Cygnus 27 was fantastic. I would go back only for dinner and the view from the top. The rest was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EJtraveler558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your romantic getaway. We know you have several options of hotels and restaurants for such an occasion, and are honored that you selected us. I am glad you enjoyed a fantastic dinner at Cygnus 27! What a romantic setting to enjoy a special dinner together.

Thank you as well for sharing this important feedback with us about your overnight stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered and will use this feedback to continually improve our facilities and experience for future guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime soon. When you do, please let us know that you would like an excellent view of the river and we will do our very best to accommodate you in a room with breathtaking views.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Amway for a family wedding. Everything was five star with the exception of 20 family members being scattered about in different towers and different floors although we were in a reserved "block". We finally had to make a list of everyone's location.

Sunday brunch - two of ordered breakfast instead of the brunch. The poor waitress mixed everything up from juices to which one of us had bacon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C-T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your family wedding! We love hosting weddings and are honored to have been a part of your family's celebration. We sincerely apologize for the situation with your room block and the unacceptable restaurant service you received. We strive to place guests who are staying in a room block close to one another. In rare cases we have to split them up due to room requests or other groups in the hotel, and are sorry that this took place for your group. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again sometime very soon, and hope you will choose us for your next stay in Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Words can't describe how incredible our experience was at the Amway Grand. The service was amazing! We were upgraded to a premium suite that had beautiful views of the Grand River through wall to wall windows. We enjoyed cocktail hour in the evening, a complete fitness center and breakfast in the morning.
The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and the linens were incredible!
We will be back"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

For our Wedding night, we booked a standard room with the bed and breakfast package. Upon arrival, the valet service, opened our doors, greeted and congratulated us and helped us out of the vehicle, and removed our bags for us. At the front desk, we were immediately congratulated and then were upgraded for FREE to the Iowa Suite which overlooks the Grand River, and our valet parking was comped! The bellhop was then quick to take our bags and escort us to our room! He brought us inside opening all the drapes and turning on lights as he went. This hotel is the most AMAZING place I have ever stayed in! Not only was the staff EXTREMELY pleasant, but even the other guests!!! Breakfast was also exceptional!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#24 of 49 in Grand Rapids
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $218 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing