We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Grand Rapids, right on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

unexpectedly nice (and quite massive) hotel.. Very well kept, decent sized rooms with great views (we had one right on the river looking north. Decent breakfast, and very close walk to the main areas in downtown Grand Rapids to go out (including just a 10 min walk to the Founders Brewery), or a brief taxi ride to others just outside the city center (including some good breweries).

Very solid choice plus free wifi, also a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy the city and some of our fantastic breweries. We're glad you enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place. Grand indeed. Nice staff, but fairly ordinary rooms. Poor wifi reception where we were. Meeting rooms were very nice that we were in. Was there for a convention. Easy walking access to downtown stores, restaurant and the GR Museum of Art.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The only way to go when traveling to Grand Rapids, Michigan is to stay at the Amway Grand Plaza.
It is elegance squared!
Located just off US-131 on Pearl St. it sits in the heart of the cultural center of the city. Filled with wonderful dining options (such as Bentham's which overlooks the Grand River and Cygnus 27 at the top of the tower) and a host of amenities, it is a grand stay indeed.
The hotel is linked by skywalk to venues such as Van Andel Arena, making entertainment and events easily accessible (even for the handicapped) a breeze in all kinds of weather year round.
The hotel is comprised of the older hisoric Pantlind Hotel wing and the new contemporary tower hotel. Both sides are a treat with hotel staff at your beckoned call 24/7.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I have stayed here on a regular basis for over twenty years and it only gets better every time.
This is truly a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed and appreciated the hotel's elegance and proximity to entertainment here in downtown Grand Rapids. We hope to see you again very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is such a wonderful hotel! The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained. The staff is young, friendly and energetic and the service, superb! You can either stay in the historical part of the hotel (very elegant!), or the newer modern tower (very comfortable with super views of the river). The food is wonderful in all of the restaurants and there is a Starbucks in the lobby as well! I've stayed here dozens of times and would return in a heartbeat--happily! Pool and workout facilities are first rate as well.

Room Tip: Take your pick--old, elegant stay (request room in original building); or new, modern stay (request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My 3/26/13-3/31/13 stay for the NCAA Hockey Regionals was the finest hotel stay that I have had in my entire life! Room 830 was a beautifully furnished junior suite in the 1913 built Pantlin Building. The Amway Grand Plaza Hotel also has a more modern hotel tower as well, but to me, the historical part of the building was much more intriguing.

The service at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel was outstanding in every area. Andrea was an exceptional server in Benthams' Riverfront Restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Please see my reviews on Benthams' and GP Sports on this site for much more on these wonderful restaurants.

There were many examples of exceptional service during my stay. Karen Johnston, the Director of Rooms, provided me with a comprehensive historical tour of the Pantlin Building featuring a complete tour brochure and historical articles from the early days of the hotel. Jennifer Cutter, the Front Office Operations Manager, personally attended to many aspects of my stay from opening a safe deposit box to providing me with many ideas for exploring Grand Rapids beautiful downtown area, from its Art Museum and Public Museum, to the Gerald Ford Presidential Library (see my reviews on all of these sites as well).

One of the most outstanding managers that I worked with was Carrie Smith, their Marketing Manager. Carrie was not only extremely welcoming towards my stay, but took the time from her busy schedule to meet with me and learned not only a great deal about Grand Rapids, biut about Amway Hotel Corporation as well. No question that Karen, Jennifer, and Carrie did a great deal to help make my stay very special.

What made my stay at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel so outstanding was that despite the short two day advance notice of my booking, my suite was ready at 10:15 a.m., and not only were all of my requests such as extra pillows and a foot stool in the bathroom met, but all of my expectations were far exceeded. This hotel is extremely responsive to guest requests and all hotels should follow this hotel's example in its excellence in providing a most memorable stay on just two days notice.

Stay at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel for the best hotel experience one will ever encounter!
The hotel was extremely convenient within walking distance of the Van Andel Arena, the Grand Rapids Art and Public Museums, along with the Gerald Ford Presidential Museum.

The Amway Grand Plaza Hotel is truly a gem of a historic hotel in Grand Rapids, MI!

Room Tip: The Pantlin Building (1913) has traditional guest rooms in a very historic building and is my choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for this extremely kind and thorough review! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay in Grand Rapids for the NCAA Hockey Regionals. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you had the opportunity to try some of our hotel restaurants and see the nearby attractions. Thank you again for your visit and for taking the time to share this review of your experience.

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Yes, you are going to pay a little more money to spend a night at this hotel, but it is worth it. The staff is very visible and very pleasant. Everything is clean and works well in this hotel, and it just makes a couple of nights in GR a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We like the tower rooms that overlook the river. It really feels like a trip to the big Big City wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for a conference but felt like a holiday when I was finished with the 9 to 5. Fav part of the Amway experience was the bar near the lobby (was quite surprised more were not packing the place out) Wait staff were soooo accommodating to the extent that when we left without paying they just waited till we returned the next night.
Rooms were perfect, comfy beds and homely but stylish furnishings. Staff came by when I made a surprise trip home during the day was great company for the 5 minutes they were there checking the fittings for quality control.
Absolutely no problem saying you should check in to the Amway if you are visiting Grand rapids. I can't find a down side. I wonder if the newer tower would have been a better experience if only for the view!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan_the_middle_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#24 of 49 in Grand Rapids
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $249 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing