We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Rapids is an amazing Midwest city!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grand Rapids is an amazing Midwest city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was restored in 1981 by the men who started the Amway corp. It also was the jump start to the revitalization of downtown Grand Rapids- which is a super cool 5 * mid sized city. This hotel is huge (over 500 rooms) & is divided into the historic section - Pantlind & the newer section- the Tower. The rooms were clean & very comfortable. Location was great - along the river (close to the fish ladder- worth checking out) & near Gerald Ford, Art & Public museums. It was close to eclectic, local restaurants & the convention centers. The downtown area is a beautiful mix of historic & new! Highly recommend the whole experience!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank York476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    348
    107
    64
    39
See reviews for
208
347
43
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Morris
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed on a Sunday evening for a work event. The good news is that the staff I encountered were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze, quick and friendly. Had a room on the old side "Pantiland" which i always find interesting as they have a lot of character. This room was a little smaller than the norm but was ok for the one night. Nice view of the city. And a plus was the bed was really comfortable.
The bad news is that there were no restaurants open in the hotel or area on a Sunday night. Not much open on Sunday evenings. The room next to me had room service at one point as I checked in around 3pm and it was there and still there in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badxl1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing this review! You'll be glad to know we have listened to feedback from you and other guests about the lack of dining options on Sunday evenings, and GP Sports is now open from 2 pm to 10 pm on Sundays. I am so glad you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff, and the historic charm of the Pantlind side of the hotel. We hope to host you when you are visiting Grand Rapids again!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed one night with our family, before we went on to do some summer vacation things. We had a nice experience. We stayed in one the suites and thought they were very comfortable, the kids slept great. We all enjoyed the pool and the pool area. Grand Rapids is a nice town with lots of kid friendly activities within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamTrav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing your family to the Amway Grand Plaza, and for sharing this review of your experience! We are fortunate to be in a city with so much to do for those of all ages within walking distance - I hope you had a chance to visit the nearby museums and parks. Our pool area is also a great resource for family fun without having to step outside of the hotel. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I totally enjoyed my stay and the friendly service offered. It was convenient to the VanAndel Arena as well and with the skywalks I didn't have to go out in the rain at all :-). The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious. I look forward to staying there again in the future and utilizing more of the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us when you attended an event at the Van Andel Arena! We know you have several hotel options downtown, and appreciate you choosing us. Thank you, as well, for sharing this review. The skywalk is so convenient, especially when it is raining or snowing! Fortunately guests can get to the arena, convention center, and other hotels and restaurants without ever going outside. We are glad you enjoyed and took note of this. Please stay with us again the next time you are visiting Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Amway for our neice's wedding. The room was nice size with Aveda amenities. Housekeeping cleaned room early each day and delivered extra towels quickly when requested.

Every staff member was exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

Location is in the center of city, close to restarants and stores.

The bar/restaurant on 27th floor offers great biew of the city and spectacular sunsets.

Breakfast buffet in Benthams was nice with made to order omelettes.

Overall, a great place to stay in Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc95164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids, and for sharing this lovely review of your experience! I'm glad that you had a chance to dine both at Cygnus 27 and at Bentham's - each have great food and unique settings for our guests. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our exceptional and attentive staff. Our staff is our most valuable asset and their attention to detail and sincere hospitality is what makes a positive impression on guests like you! We hope that you will come back and see us next time you are in the area.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our tower room was slightly dated for a hotel of this caliber but not too bad. Nice views of the city and the river. Very friendly service throughout the hotel. Grand Rapids is a nice town and this place is offers the amenities of a big city hotel.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are newer with better views and a little larger but a bit out of date. Original section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed in a Tower suite before and really enjoyed the luxery the room offered, but that was years ago. It seems the rooms have not been refreshed since and are really showing their wear and tear. The bathroom in particular needs an overhaul, the toilet's oversized plumbing looks industrial, not upscale at all. The facet is a basic chrome 1980's faucet. The lighting by the elevators screams 1980. The bed was the highlight - very comfortable and the 2 flat screens were appreciated. But it's time to change the out of date drapes and valances, nicked up furniture and odd bathroom lighting. Service was professional and pleasant, but like other comments, I could hear hallway noise in the sitting area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing this important feedback on the condition of the suite you stayed in. You'll be glad to know that we are beginning a renovation project on the tower side of the hotel to update the fixtures and decorating so that the rooms will be more comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. We invite you to come stay with us in the tower again when the project is complete! I have a feeling you'll be quite pleased. In the meantime, I will be sure that the Montana Tower Suite receives some immediate attention and that your concerns are addressed. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#19 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#16 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Spa Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing