We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cant wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I cant wait to go back.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Amway Grand Plaza last weekend for Artprize in Grand Rapids.The hotel itself is just amazing .It is beautiful and cant say enough about the service we got everywhere in the hotel we went.Our first room was in the older part of the hotel and although the room was beautiful and very cozy,we looked out our window and saw a roof.We could not decide if we should call for another room,as we were not going to be in the room all that much.We finally decided to see if we could be moved.I called down to the front desk and they told me they had a full house that weekend and they were still cleaning rooms,but they would let us know when they had something else available,and assured us that it was fine to stay in the room we were in until something else came up.Fifteen minutes later they called and said they had a room for us in the tower(newer) section of the hotel if that was ok with us.Our new room was amazing.It was more modern,a bit bigger and it was a corner room overlooking the river.We could not have asked for anything more.We had lunch on the Sports Bar and the service was wonderful and the server and hostess were very friendly.We had brunch on Sunday and that was also very good.Everyone from the valet to the front desk to the bartenders and staff working in the stores were very friendly and helpfull.The location was perfect for Artprize and the city is very walkable.I cannot wait to go back next year,if not sooner.

Room Tip: If you love the old achictecture stay in the older section.The rooms are lovely and the lobby is beu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallgirlfrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Grand Rapids for ArtPrize and for this magnificent review! I hope that you enjoyed taking in all the art and excitement that abounds in our city during the competition. We always do our best to make sure our guests are satisfied if not blown away with their room, and I'm glad to hear your stay was no exception. Our staff is remarkable and truly what makes our hotel so special. Please come and see us again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    387
    129
    76
    44
See reviews for
241
394
46
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went there for a luncheon..Award ceremony for my Sister,I could not believe that I had to park in a structure and then pay $16 a night as well.Had to carry bags down a flight of stairs before finding registration desk.Knowing that I was to pay 184.00 a night I was quite disappointed in my room although it was nice looking it could have offered a more comfortable chair or couch to sit in,the bathroom was quite small..toilet area very small.I was hoping for a little more extravagance but I can be a bit critical.With that being said the bed was the most comfortable thing I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were downtown for your sister's award ceremony - we realize you have several options in the area and appreciate that you selected us. I'm sorry that some aspects of your stay were less than excellent. The next time you stay with us, I would recommend taking advantage of the valet parking service. The staff is wonderful and will guide you through the process of checking in and getting to your room so you do not have to carry bags and struggle to find your way. I would also recommend requesting a room on the tower side of the hotel, as the rooms and bathrooms are larger there. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your Lady Americana bed! A good mattress can sometimes be what really sets apart a hotel stay. We hope to see you again soon.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in the Amway for a friend's wedding in Grand Rapids. We were in the Pantlind side. Nice rooms, very clean, had a lot of charm and character. Beds were extremely comfortable. Great location right downtown Grand Rapids.

Room Tip: Ask for Pantlind side if you want the older rooms with character and charm. Ask for the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJL0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A few friends and I stayed here for a friends wedding that was taking place at the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful & perfect location. Everyone was very helpful, especially Zac. We kept bugging him for different things (tape, scissors, wine opener, etc) and he was always so nice and professional! The wedding was in the imperial ballroom and was gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were visiting for your friend's wedding, and for sharing this fantastic review. The hotel is such an elegant and gorgeous place for a wedding, and we are honored that so many couples choose to share their special day with us. Thank you for your kinds words about our staff - we truly believe they are what makes this hotel so great! Please come see us again soon when you are next in Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Every once in a while it is nice to feel like you are being given extra special treatment. This is the way you feel when you stay at the Amway Grand Plaza. This is a great way to surprise your wife with a little overnight or weekend stay. It feels very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. I went there for work and decided I didn't want to leave and stayed an extra night. What a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were very clean, the shops inside the hotel had really cute clothes and jewelry and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: Had a room in the newer section of the hotel and it was really nice. Beautiful view overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

How fun that you were able to spend an extra night! We are always flattered when those who visit the hotel for business or a convention choose to stay with us for pleasure as well. We are proud of the shopping options we have available right here in the hotel, and are thrilled that you took note! Please come and see us again soon - we would love to have you. Thank you for posting this review!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Room 2281. Beautiful views over the river. Lovely room with corner windows. As an English person would have appreciated milk rather than cream. But otherwise thought the hotel was astounding. Cornucopia canteen brilliant for breakfast. Swimming pool and spa great fun.

Room Tip: We had a lovely quiet room with views over both the river and the town. Cornucopia canteen excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank higtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#20 of 48 in Grand Rapids
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing