We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest of Customer Service Standards!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cadillac, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highest of Customer Service Standards!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, The Amway Grand Hotel was simply amazing in every way. This company knows what it takes to properly train their staff. We felt like royalty the whole time we were there. The well trained (consistent) staff members were not robots in their customer service approach. They were genuine at all times and it showed. Thank you Amway Grand Hotel showed us what true customer service should be like. Unfortunately, they spoiled me since I've yet to experience anything as great as this elsewhere. You set the bar high! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    387
    129
    75
    44
See reviews for
240
394
46
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the 'glass tower' for the 4th of July. I had always wanted to stay at the Amway. The public spaces are so beautiful, I really expected the hotel to live up to it's reputation. DON'T EXPECT MUCH! I have stayed at many hotels and this one was very poor. The rooms were seedy looking fill with cheap furniture and dingy wallpaper. The enamel was worn off the bathtub and the towels, though plentiful, were rough and worn. The bedding was scratchy and smelled of bleach and the pillows had to be folded in-half to provide any comfort. The fireworks were a real plus. Best seat on the river. Do yourself a favor.....Stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Piemonte, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I've been at Amway for 4 nights. Great location to stay, rooms are wide and cleaned, hotel staff is very helpful and price is reasonable. Close to the lobby, you can find restaurant, gift store and a Starbucks. Free wi-fi, it's a great place to stay especially if you go in Grand Rapids for business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your time in Grand Rapids and for sharing this review! Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel, and we are so glad you noted their helpfulness. We are pleased to offer so much dining and shopping right here in the hotel, as well as the complimentary Wi-Fi that is so imperative for our business travelers.

We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your business trip to Grand Rapids, and that you'll stay with us again soon!

At Your Service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were in Grand Rapids for a familywedding and booked several rooms at theAmway Grand Plaza at the recommendation of family. We arrived at 4 pm on a Friday and were greeted by 20 minute wait to check in. The line moved at a snail's pace. When we finally got to the counter, we were told that only one of our rooms in the tower section of the hotel were ready even though it was well past 4 pm. We were tired and needed to change prior to an evening gathering and were offered rooms in the older section of the hotel.
The room we were assigned(625) was well appointed with an extended seating area which was very nice. We were disappointed to learn later that evening when we returned to the room that there was several service elevators that were adjacent to the room. I have no idea why a service elevator needs to be used from 11 pm to 7 am, but this elevator was used during that time. It sounded like a small roller coaster up and down the wall.
We requested to move rooms the following morning and were given a room across the hall. While we had no issue with the elevator that night, every person who made a sound in the hallway could clearly be heard in our room, including the room service delivery after midnight to the adjoining room. The hotel desk comped our self parking for our trouble.
While the hotel public areas and rooms were beautiful, we did not enjoy the extreme wait time to check in, our requested rooms not being available at check in or the noisy environment at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the recommendation of your family, and for reviewing your experience with us. We take great pride in offering outstanding service and a quality experience for our guests from start to finish, so we deeply apologize for our shortcomings during your stay with us. We hope that you are able to visit us again when you are in Grand Rapids, and that we can accommodate you on the Tower side of the hotel, which provides better sound proofing. Also, we are looking into the extensive use of the service elevator throughout the evening that you described. We do offer 24-hour room service and our third shift security and engineering staff members have to use the elevator during these times occasionally, but the frequent use you described is unusual.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

You need not look any further. This is the best hotel in Grand Rapids.The hotel staff is completely service ready, helpful in anyway and the hotel is in a great location. Many places to eat, drink & shop, need I say anymore. The rooms are very clean and large enough to feel very comfortable in. Well worth a first trip,I'm certain you will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantrae
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Amway Grand Plaza while in Grand Rapids, Michigan for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, close to museums, shop etc. The service at the hotel is first-class, the food was excellent and the room well appointed. Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallantraeGolfguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. It was a very busy weekend but the staff did a great job and were very friendly. We stayed in the older part of the hotel that was renovated and it was very charming and cute. We were the closest room to the elevators and you could here EVERYTHING! There is no sound proofing in the room so we could here everyone walk by, get on the elevator, get off the elevator, the whole nine yards. The bathroom was very small and there was absolutely no area to put any of your travel items- it had a pedistal sink- not great planning on whoever designed it. The bars in the hotel close way too early so after the wedding or when we had gone out, we wanted to be back and finish up at the hotel, but everything was closed, that was a bummer. We tried to call and make spa reservations when we got there, but everything was booked, so if you are looking to get a massage or something, call before ahead of time We did eat the first day at Benthams for lunch which was nice and then ate at Cygnus 27 for dinner- awesome view! I've stayed at much nicer places for the price you pay, but no major issues, but we weren't impressed overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#20 of 48 in Grand Rapids
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing