We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
JW Marriott Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityFlatsHotel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveler rating
1,043
420
144
82
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
420
144
82
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew towerruth's chrisolder parttower roomsports barpantlind hotelclassic hotelwolfgang puckold sectionwalk in closetvalet parkingview of the riverroom serviceconvention centerwithin walking distancebeautiful roomart prize
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,503 - 1,508 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I've been at Amway for 4 nights. Great location to stay, rooms are wide and cleaned, hotel staff is very helpful and price is reasonable. Close to the lobby, you can find restaurant, gift store and a Starbucks. Free wi-fi, it's a great place to stay especially if you go in Grand Rapids for business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your time in Grand Rapids and for sharing this review! Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel, and we are so glad you noted their helpfulness. We are pleased to offer so much dining and shopping right here in the hotel, as well as the complimentary Wi-Fi that is so imperative for our business travelers.

We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your business trip to Grand Rapids, and that you'll stay with us again soon!

At Your Service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were in Grand Rapids for a familywedding and booked several rooms at theAmway Grand Plaza at the recommendation of family. We arrived at 4 pm on a Friday and were greeted by 20 minute wait to check in. The line moved at a snail's pace. When we finally got to the counter, we were told that only one of our rooms in the tower section of the hotel were ready even though it was well past 4 pm. We were tired and needed to change prior to an evening gathering and were offered rooms in the older section of the hotel.
The room we were assigned(625) was well appointed with an extended seating area which was very nice. We were disappointed to learn later that evening when we returned to the room that there was several service elevators that were adjacent to the room. I have no idea why a service elevator needs to be used from 11 pm to 7 am, but this elevator was used during that time. It sounded like a small roller coaster up and down the wall.
We requested to move rooms the following morning and were given a room across the hall. While we had no issue with the elevator that night, every person who made a sound in the hallway could clearly be heard in our room, including the room service delivery after midnight to the adjoining room. The hotel desk comped our self parking for our trouble.
While the hotel public areas and rooms were beautiful, we did not enjoy the extreme wait time to check in, our requested rooms not being available at check in or the noisy environment at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the recommendation of your family, and for reviewing your experience with us. We take great pride in offering outstanding service and a quality experience for our guests from start to finish, so we deeply apologize for our shortcomings during your stay with us. We hope that you are able to visit us again when you are in Grand Rapids, and that we can accommodate you on the Tower side of the hotel, which provides better sound proofing. Also, we are looking into the extensive use of the service elevator throughout the evening that you described. We do offer 24-hour room service and our third shift security and engineering staff members have to use the elevator during these times occasionally, but the frequent use you described is unusual.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

You need not look any further. This is the best hotel in Grand Rapids.The hotel staff is completely service ready, helpful in anyway and the hotel is in a great location. Many places to eat, drink & shop, need I say anymore. The rooms are very clean and large enough to feel very comfortable in. Well worth a first trip,I'm certain you will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Amway Grand Plaza while in Grand Rapids, Michigan for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, close to museums, shop etc. The service at the hotel is first-class, the food was excellent and the room well appointed. Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallantraeGolfguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. It was a very busy weekend but the staff did a great job and were very friendly. We stayed in the older part of the hotel that was renovated and it was very charming and cute. We were the closest room to the elevators and you could here EVERYTHING! There is no sound proofing in the room so we could here everyone walk by, get on the elevator, get off the elevator, the whole nine yards. The bathroom was very small and there was absolutely no area to put any of your travel items- it had a pedistal sink- not great planning on whoever designed it. The bars in the hotel close way too early so after the wedding or when we had gone out, we wanted to be back and finish up at the hotel, but everything was closed, that was a bummer. We tried to call and make spa reservations when we got there, but everything was booked, so if you are looking to get a massage or something, call before ahead of time We did eat the first day at Benthams for lunch which was nice and then ate at Cygnus 27 for dinner- awesome view! I've stayed at much nicer places for the price you pay, but no major issues, but we weren't impressed overall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews