We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great hotel overall”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I enjoyed my three night stay at the Amway Grand. The room was nicely appointed and the bed wonderful to sleep in. I stayed on the older side side of the hotel, not the newer side and cannot compare the rooms. Housecleaning was wonderful and thus the room was immaculate. Everyone working here was very friendly and helpful, from check-in to staff who would greet you at various places in the hotel. They were very good with directions, which is important as the hotel is a maze with not very good signage. I feel as if they could improve upon that. I also wished they did not charge for printing, and the business center is tiny and not well laid out. The room walls are thin so expect to hear everything going on in your neighbors rooms. The hotel has a great location within walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars. If I could afford it, I would stay there again but suspect I could not afford the non-conference rate. All of the restaurants are very, very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel and for sharing your review! We agree that our Lady Americana beds make for a wonderful, restful sleep, and that our very talented and hard-working staff members are really what make the hotel special. We also agree that our hotel could use more signage to help visitors navigate all of our lobbies and meeting spaces. We are currently in the process of updating all our way-finding kiosks with more current information in an easily understood format. Thank you for your feedback on the business center - we will examine the layout and pricing structure and see if there is a way we can improve.

The next time you stay with us, be sure to check out the packages on our website. These are often a great way to minimize the cost of staying and dining with us. In addition, our Cornucopia Deli is now open in the evening hours, providing a lower-cost dinner option for our guests.

Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your thoughts - we truly appreciate it!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    387
    129
    75
    44
See reviews for
240
394
46
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a great hotel. The ambiance is wonderful. We love visiting. However, it is important to stay in the updated section of the hotel. We stayed in the older part and did not care for the rooms nearly as much. This hotel is located close to all the downtown restaurants in Grand Rapids. Also has great service. We love it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleP611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel and for taking the time to review your experience. In an historic hotel like ours, we understand how important it is for us to continually update our rooms. Fortunately, we have a room renovation project slated for this year that will help us keep all of our rooms at the high standard of quality we are so proud to have. We're glad you enjoyed the wonderful proximity of our hotel to many downtown restaurants and establishments, and hope you visit us again soon! Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates on our upcoming renovations so you can be sure to check out our updated spaces upon their completion.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

OK we reserved/stayed in 2 adjoining rooms last weekend for a bachelorette party. The room rate was right around $182 each/night. Problem is by the time you add in fees for this and that and taxes it was about $240 each/night. The main lobby is still just as beautiful as always, but the rooms are in desperate need or remodeling. I don't think they have been touched since the place opened 30 years ago, and it shows! Then on top of it there is a fee to use the pool (even if you are a guest). I have heard the J.W. Mariott is beautiful also and being that it is much newer I would stay there if I was ever to stay downtown again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for the bachelorette party! We know you have several options in Grand Rapids, and are truly thankful you chose us. We apologize that your stay did not meet the high standards of quality and service we strive for.

We recently completed renovating the historic Pantlind side of the hotel, and are now moving on to renovate the tower rooms later this year. We love the historic charm of our hotel, and are working hard to preserve the historic integrity of the hotel while maintaining a high level of luxury for our guests.

Please stop in to check out our progress if you’re in town, and we’d love to continue to receive your feedback. Feel free to call our Director of Operations, Bruce Lyon, to discuss any time at 616-776-6456.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a historic hotel with many ballrooms for business functions (I am here for a trade show). My wholesaler got us suppliers a nice corporate rate and I was very happy to take advantage of it! I stayed in the glass tower (the newer addition to the hotel) with 27 floors...I was on 24. A lovely view of the Grand River and the vast flats that are SW Michigan. The room was generously sized and clean, with all the basic amenities. And what water pressure!

For you athletes, the fitness center is not to be missed. Staffed with a checkin desk, there is a nice pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and fitness room with all the equipment you could ask for (even a tanning booth, go figure). The concierge had a printed map offering 1, 2, 3 and 4 mile running routes around downtown (we ran the 4).

There are many restaurant options within the hotel, as well as other options close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your trade show! We are honored to host many shows and conventions. We are glad that you enjoyed the lovely view our tower offers, and all of the equipment and services available in our fitness center! Grand Rapids really is an excellent city for runners – we’re so fortunate to be able to offer a variety of beautiful spaces to our guests outside of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! (Maybe for the Fifth Third Riverbank Run on May 12?)

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here while my husband attended a convention. I think almost everyone in Michigan who attends a conference in GR stays here at some point. It's always full of conventioners in big groups in the elevator, etc. But it's a nice hotel - we were in the tower and it was very clean and updated. Nice views from the windows. No coffee in the room, otherwise pretty much exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dms1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your husband’s convention, and for taking the time to share your experience. We are proud to be the host of many conventions, and thankful that Grand Rapids provides such an ideal destination for these events. You may have stayed with us prior to this – but we recently added personal coffee makers to all our Guest Rooms! In the Tower Guest Rooms, the coffee makers are placed in the credenza drawer, and in the Classic Guest Rooms on the Pantlind side of the hotel they are located in the wall unit or on the end table – so be sure to look for one the next time you stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Had a very enjoyable and informative stay at the Amway Grand while attending a state Tourism Conference. The public areas are just magnificent, any restaurant you may try was splendid and the rooms are so nicely appointed. Very pleased that FREE wireless internet is provided in public areas as well as banquet rooms and guestrooms. Had plenty of signal strength in the rooms too.

Room Tip: You can self park with an indoor walk via overhead tunnel to the ramp instead of using Valet. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us during the Michigan Lodging and Tourism Association conference! We were proud to be the host of this fantastic event, and appreciate you and the many other attendees who chose to stay with us - we know that you have several hotel options in the Grand Rapids area. We are glad to be able to offer high quality wireless Internet access to our guests free of charge! Stay with us again sometime soon.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Lakes, Mi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I recently attended a conference at the Historic Amway Grand Hotel and can't say enough about the staff. I was always greated with a friendly smile and a pleasant "hello" by everyone associated with the hotel. Each employee seemed genuinely interested in me and my stay. You can't say that about a lot of places anymore. My only gripe would be the $25 valet fee (value) and the room HVAC was a little distracting (sleep quality) but not ridiculous enough that I thought to mention it. The beds, however, are extremely comfortable. Great location and you can pretty much walk protected from the elements in the sky walk system all over the area.

Room Tip: If I were to bring my family I would chose the "tower" as this is where the pool and tenni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler67547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#18 of 48 in Grand Rapids
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing