We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated Like a Queen Once Again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Blanc MI
Level Contributor
311 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Treated Like a Queen Once Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed four nights for a MACAE conference and once again I was treated like a queen. Check in and room availability wasn’t quite up to standard since I had to wait an hour for my room. I could have switched to another room without a Riverview, but I really enjoy the view. The wait was due to late checkout time from a previous conference, but we arrived after 5pm. The staff made up for any inconvenience I had experienced. That is why I drive three hours on occasion to Grand Rapids just to enjoy the city, because I know I will get a good night sleep at the Amway Grand. I am also pleased when I am expected to stay on business.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear jettygwk,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks; we are so happy that you enjoyed your time here at the Amway Grand. We want to apologize for the extended check in time and we also want to thank you for your patience. Once again, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    363
    111
    66
    41
See reviews for
213
364
44
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

This marriage of an old ‘classic’ – the Pantlind – and the new ‘smart’ – the Amway is a success, with the two buildings interlocking in all sorts of clever ways. The shops in the new building are well stocked, and the food service is good; we ate several times in the Cornucopia café (sandwiches, pizza slice, cookies, etc.), and once in the more upscale (albeit temporarily relocated) Bentham’s restaurant, and were satisfied each time. The meeting rooms are adequate, and the staff uniformly pleasant and helpful. We didn’t use the pool, but it appeared to be popular and liked. We also didn’t dine in the top floor Cygnus restaurant. One of our group stayed on the 13th floor of the Amway, from where the views of downtown Grand Rapids and the river were excellent. The room was well appointed, clean and quiet.
The last adjective - ‘quiet’ – sadly could not describe our room in the Pantlind. Beautifully appointed, with a very comfortable bed, nice desk, and a good bathroom (though the Kohler tub drain plug was defective, making a shower the only option), this should have been a delight. However, the noise from the other guests was really intrusive. The first night I was woken up by loud guests on the floor below talking loudly after 1:00 am; it took security two visits to quiet them down. The next night a couple moved into the room next door, and I was treated to their entire conversation, word for word. I went out into the corridor to knock on their door and complain, only to find that they could not be heard through the solid wooden door. Actually, they were not talking loudly, but instead their privacy (and my rest) was compromised by extremely thin walls.
The staff was responsive to my complaint the first night – it’s not their fault that some guests are raucous – but I soon realized that any future visit to this hotel would see me in the Amway tower, and not the historic Pantlind. The latter has magnificent public rooms and has been beautifully restored/maintained, but at some point the owners are going to have to tackle the issue of extraneous noise. Without exaggeration, it’s the worst I’ve encountered in a hotel of this overall quality.

Room Tip: Tower quiet, Pantlind noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoteachersSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear TwoteachersSt.Louis,

Thank you for your fantastic remarks; we are so happy that you enjoyed your time here at the Amway Grand. We are very proud of our facility and by reading your remarks, you got to enjoy not only the hotel but also some of the great restaurants and shopping. I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. I extend an invitation for you to contact me directly to further discuss your experience. I can be reached at 616.776.6485 at your convenience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Our night at the Amway Grand was wonderful. My husband and I spent a recent Friday night at the hotel while on a short trip to visit our son who lives in the Grand Rapids area.

We booked the Romance package, which was offered online through the hotel's website. For $199 we had a standard room with a king sized bed, valet parking was included ($25 value), a $50 gift card for the restaurants in the hotel, a bottle of Canyon Road chardonnay ... chilled and waiting in our room and a box of chocolate truffles. The hotel has several nice restaurants and bars. We used our gift card for Starbucks coffee and drinks at one of the lobby bars. We used the remainder of the gift card for a package of Starbucks coffee to take home with us ...

Parking is very convenient, in a garage connected to the hotel by an enclosed pedestrian tunnel. In and out privileges were included with the self parking ... which we chose rather than valet (both are included in the package).

The Amway is located at the center of the Grand Rapids restaurant and night scene, with many, many nice restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Our room was predictably small for a hotel of this age, but was spotless and very nicely decorated. The bed was as comfortable as Westin's Heavenly Bed, with high end sheets. The bathroom was very small, but the shower was spacious and, as I mentioned, spotless. It is rare to find a hotel room this clean, comfortable, and well kept. Next time we may upgrade to a slightly larger room at a higher price. This room was,
however, fine for 2 people spending just one night.

The front desk staff was helpful in recommending a restaurant for lunch outside of the hotel as well as providing an area map.

The hotel lobby is beautiful, with chandeliers, and ballrooms for weddings and other events.

I would highly recommend the Amway, especially at the reasonable price which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Gbmom_11,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks; we are so happy that you enjoyed your time here at the Amway Grand. We are so proud of our facility and by reading your remarks, you got to enjoy one of our packages, which allows you to enjoy not only the hotel but also some of the great restaurants and shopping outlets. Once again, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Beautiful hotel. Lobby very elegant. Stayed on the 22nd floor. Beautiful view of the city and river! Long line for check-in, but that was because every hotel in the city was booked for the Bob Seger concert! Ate dinner at the sportsbar in the hotel before and after the concert. Good service. It was a little cold out, so it was nice that there was a covered walkway all the way to the concert. Beds and linens were so comfortable, very nice room! Nice clean rooms. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessi483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Nessi483,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We are so proud of our facility and by reading your remarks you got a chance to enjoy not only the beautiful hotel but also GP Sports, our high energy sports bar. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of everything downtown Grand Rapids has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed just one night in a concierge level room when we came to town for a concert.

To start with the positives: 1) every staff member we interacted with was fantastic--friendly, helpful, efficient; 2) the hotel is beautiful; 3) our room was large, quiet, and with a great bed; 4) the evening drinks/snacks were enough to be our light dinner and the morning breakfast was fresh and filling in the Tower Club Lounge for the concierge level; and 5) it is a great way to see a concert at Van Andel Arena since you can take the sky walk from the hotel to the arena.

The negatives: 1) We arrived about 3:45 pm and waited in line for 45 minutes to check in. It was not a good start to our stay and it took the time we had set aside for a quick shopping trip to a store I'd read about a few blocks away. They absolutely need to find a more efficient way to get people checked in when they are having a large influx of guests; and 2) It is silly to nickle and dime people who are paying this hotel's nightly rate. Five dollars to use the pool/gym facility, $5 to upgrade from tasteless coffee to Starbucks in your room. Those sorts of fees are tacky and take away from the elegant feeling the hotel is trying to put forward. Fairly minor charges, but I've never liked this approach.

We did not regret our stay and did enjoy many aspects of our experience, but it also wasn't quite what we expected from what we'd heard about the hotel.

Room Tip: The concierge level rooms are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2snorkel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Love2snorkel61,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. I want to apologize for the delayed check in time and the extra costs that you encountered during your stay. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management staff, as always, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. I extend an invitation for you to contact me directly to further discuss your experience. I can be reached at 616.776.6485 at your convenience.

At your service,

S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

What a fun place to be! Being here on leisure, our family really enjoyed the amenities that Amway and Grand Rapids has to offer. The museums, restaurants and nearby shopping kept our family entertained!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thoxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Thoxsie,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are so proud of our facility and by reading your remarks, you and your family got a chance to enjoy the facility and all the downtown area to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

I used to stay at this hotel at least 6 times a month with my mom for all of her business trips. The Amway was my second home and all employees took me in as if i was on of their kids! I loved the hotel to pieces and found it to be very elegant (for Michigan) and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHSwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sverhoef, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear BHSwannabe,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are so proud of our facility and by reading your remarks, you and your family got a chance to enjoy the facility to the fullest. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

At your service,
S. VerHoef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing