We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six.One.Six Restaurant

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 916 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The JW Marriott signature restaurant, six.one.six, and destination lounge, mixology, offer the breathtaking blend of sophisticated urban ambience, palate-pleasing cuisine, as well as the finest wines and perfectly poured cocktails.Also a feast for the eyes, warm woods, custom lighting, and modern décor help create the perfect setting for a dinner party with friends or business partners. Care to experience our creative cuisine alfresco? We extend an invitation to dine at jdek, our vivacious outdoor patio. But more than just a "pretty face," six.one.six. takes its cuisine seriously. Dedicated to the concept of buying local, the chef's pantry is bursting with locally grown ingredients, some of which are picked just a few feet away at the JW Chef's Garden. The six.one.six. kitchen also participates in Sort, a recycling and composting program coordinated with Zeeland-headquartered Spurt Industries, which helps turn food scraps into top-quality soil for area parks.
Midwest
Level Contributor
390 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a late dinner here on a recent business trip to Grand Rapids. All in all, a very good dinner - especially for a hotel. I had the six.one.six chowder, which was thick and bacony, and the mussels - a big bowl of garlickly, peppery steamed mussels served with naan. My colleague chose the soup of the day (white bean) and sushi sampler, which he pronounced quite tasty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dwg51357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Six.One.Six Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for dining with us while you were in Grand Rapids on business, and for sharing this lovely review of your experience. We are so glad you and your colleague enjoyed your meals and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our restaurant. We hope to host you again when you are next visiting the city!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    74
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just as the hotel, the 616 is a very good restaurant. Food for dinner and for breakfast was just excellent. Maybe noisy during the dinner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olli_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Six.One.Six Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for dining with us and for taking the time to review your experience. I am glad you enjoyed the food and found six.one.six to be a good restaurant overall. We will take your comment about noise during dinner into consideration as we look to continually improve the dining experience for our guests.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trying to hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went here for a graduation dinner and most of our table found the food just okay and way too overpriced. It was almost like they were trying too hard to make the food seem spectacular but it wasn't. I will not be returning if I don't have to. Maybe have a few more things on the menu that aren't so complicated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Six.One.Six Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for dining with us for a graduation dinner, and for taking the time to review your experience and share this important feedback with us. We appreciate your comments and desire for some simpler menu options. We hope to have the opportunity to host you for another, much more enjoyable, dining experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Make a reservation so you don't have to wait. Our Sunday morning buffet was excellent. Great fresh fruit, waffles, made to order eggs, all was great. They even had chocolate and plain Silk milk available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparklesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Six.One.Six Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for visiting us for brunch and for sharing your thoughts! I am so glad that you enjoyed all that our breakfast buffet has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Restaurant Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a drink and snack in the lounge of the Six.One.Six Restaurant where our view overlooked the Grand River. The next morning we enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet with a variety and well displayed food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 19HappyTraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Six.One.Six Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us for two dining experiences! How wonderful that you and your daughter were able to so enjoy both of them. Thank you for sharing this review, and we hope to host you again soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six.One.Six Restaurant also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Six.One.Six Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing