We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As R.E.A.L. Chinese as you can get in GR!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wei Wei Palace

Wei Wei Palace
Ranked #262 of 916 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
631 reviews
530 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“As R.E.A.L. Chinese as you can get in GR!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

As a caucasian native of W. Mich, I wouldn't have stopped at the Wei-Wei on my own. It's a little too gritty and realistic for my strip mall Chinese food blood. IT'S A REALLY GOOD THING a friend of mine took me as a guest on a recent Sunday. WHAT AN EXPERIENCE! The selection was awesome, the quality was unmatched by any restaurant of it's kind in W. Michigan. The place was filled with families in their Sunday best, all having Dim-Sum, chatting in each of their own respective language, kind of like a mixed asian Norman Rockwell painting would look. We've been back twice on our own.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish and seafood:)) so yummy..!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The foods is very tasty. Fresh live fish and seafood. I love the environment, Chinese style. I've been to many Chinese places, I still come back to Wei Wei, however, my tip is always calculate your bill and scale of foods you ordered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tydasom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Came here for a dimsum brunch. Service is very good. You're seat quickly once you enter and presented with a good selection of dimsum. You do not have to keep waiting for the cart to show up unlike many other dimsum places. Food quality is good. The dishes tasted as expected. The only item that I would not order again is the roasted pork bun (not the steamed one, those were good). They have a food warming cart and these roasted pork bun were also in there, which might have resulted in the buns being a tad harder than we liked them to be.

Ordering dimsum in many places can be a dauting task for many due to language but not a problem at Wei Wei. Almost all the staff speaks english and explanation of the dishes was not an issue.

The restaurant is easy to locate as well. Definitely would come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gamedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We met friends here and what a wonderful meal. Crazy that they have all that meat hanging in the window cooked duck, chicken, etc. a real experience. The food was excellent and just kept coming. We were very full when we left and went back a couple times so far. Will return there again soon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goldenpups2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“and then there was dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Recommended by a friend, we had reasonably high expectations for WEI WEI. In SW Michigan, that can be a recipe for disappointment. Well, hold the phone! This was a triple winner. First, the din sum was offered with helpful, friendly and detailed explanations. All our choices were superb. Second, in the same shopping center is an amply stocked Asian grocery store. And, to top it off, the third treat is a Vietnamese food kiosk where we bought a dumpling, sandwich and shrimp rolls as takeaway for dinner. How satisfying. It's all on our "soon as possible" return list.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boomersooner5154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wei Wei Palace also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Wei Wei Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing