We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK food in Great Location”
Review of Blue Water Grill

Blue Water Grill
Ranked #104 of 932 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Blue Water Grill is a breath of fresh air with unique Frank Lloyd Wright inspired architecture, a stunningly massive fireplace, and some of the best water views in West Michigan. This is all made possible with large glass walls, inspired design and, quite possibly, the most impressively beautiful deck in the city. And that's just the atmosphere. Blue Water Grill continues The Gilmore Collection tradition of decidedly inspired food with a collection of satisfying influences including Italian, Mediterranean and classic American. All the traditional favorites are accounted for with a wide variety of wood-fired pizzas, seafood, steaks, salads, sandwiches and more. The menu and surroundings are perfect for the most intimate or social of dining experiences.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
383 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Just OK food in Great Location”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Boy, I wish this place was better, since it is less than 3 minutes from our house. The food is maybe average and the service is OK at best.The ambiance is fine and the location is very nice. We have been here three times, but probably won't return unless there is some major change or all the other restaurants in the area go out of business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Our sincere apologies that your recent visits have not exceeded your expectations. We will make every effort to ensure your next visit is amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    59
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Daddy Daughter Dance Dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff, food and over-all experience was top of the line. We love this place. It is so well done inside and out. We will keep coming back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are happy you visited us on your special occassion and you had a wonderful tiime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Can't go wrong with Blue Water Grill”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really good food, very nice atmosphere, all around a good place to eat and drink. Service has always been great. As a local resident this is one of my favorite regular spots.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregorCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are glad we met your expectations and you had a wonderful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistently good, never surprising”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've been several times, the most recent with a larger party from my work. The food, as it has been every time was excellent and the service polished. The dishes were well thought out and unique in both taste and appearance. Despite the name this is not a seafood house, but with the lake view and the patio in the summer, it is a very good place for a pleasant dinner with two or twelve.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are happy that you had a great visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, lovely view!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went to Blue Water Grill recently with my husband for a evening out and we had a wonderful time! The menu was great - lots of variety. The location was really nice, too. There was a fire going in the fireplace near the entry way, adding some rustic charm. Then, one whole wall of the restaurant is glass allowing you to see a beautiful lake.

My husband got the Mahi Mahi Tacos and I got what I call "adult macaroni & cheese" - macaroni with vegetables. Both meals were delicious and the portion sizes were generous. We were able to take some boxes home and we each got a second meal out of it.

The service was good and everyone was very efficient and friendly. I'd highly recommend this restaurant for the food and the ambiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and you had a lovely dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Grill also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Blue Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing