We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daddy Daughter Dance Dinner”
Review of Blue Water Grill

Blue Water Grill
Ranked #93 of 943 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Blue Water Grill is a breath of fresh air with unique Frank Lloyd Wright inspired architecture, a stunningly massive fireplace, and some of the best water views in West Michigan. This is all made possible with large glass walls, inspired design and, quite possibly, the most impressively beautiful deck in the city. And that's just the atmosphere. Blue Water Grill continues The Gilmore Collection tradition of decidedly inspired food with a collection of satisfying influences including Italian, Mediterranean and classic American. All the traditional favorites are accounted for with a wide variety of wood-fired pizzas, seafood, steaks, salads, sandwiches and more. The menu and surroundings are perfect for the most intimate or social of dining experiences.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Daddy Daughter Dance Dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff, food and over-all experience was top of the line. We love this place. It is so well done inside and out. We will keep coming back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are happy you visited us on your special occassion and you had a wonderful tiime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    21
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Can't go wrong with Blue Water Grill”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really good food, very nice atmosphere, all around a good place to eat and drink. Service has always been great. As a local resident this is one of my favorite regular spots.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregorCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are glad we met your expectations and you had a wonderful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good, never surprising”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've been several times, the most recent with a larger party from my work. The food, as it has been every time was excellent and the service polished. The dishes were well thought out and unique in both taste and appearance. Despite the name this is not a seafood house, but with the lake view and the patio in the summer, it is a very good place for a pleasant dinner with two or twelve.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are happy that you had a great visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, lovely view!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went to Blue Water Grill recently with my husband for a evening out and we had a wonderful time! The menu was great - lots of variety. The location was really nice, too. There was a fire going in the fireplace near the entry way, adding some rustic charm. Then, one whole wall of the restaurant is glass allowing you to see a beautiful lake.

My husband got the Mahi Mahi Tacos and I got what I call "adult macaroni & cheese" - macaroni with vegetables. Both meals were delicious and the portion sizes were generous. We were able to take some boxes home and we each got a second meal out of it.

The service was good and everyone was very efficient and friendly. I'd highly recommend this restaurant for the food and the ambiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and you had a lovely dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
1 review
“JUst Bad”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was just not a good experience all the way around for my family and I. WEnt on a Sunday evening and the hos wanted to seat us right by the NOISY kitchen when the restaurant was less than half empty. REally? WE asked to be seated away from the kitchen and were given a dirty look. After we were seated it took quite some time for anyone to come over to our tabe and take our drink orders. After the drinks came, she left and think she took a vaction. After a bit of a wait, the server shows up and took our order. Firstly, this eatery trys to come off as posh and chich but really it's not all that. The olive oil that they have on the tables is the lowest quality and is NOT extra viiirgin olive oil . THey stuff herbs and rosemary in the bottle to do what I can only guess. IT was n a word :"Disgusting". YOU have to ask for bread and thy snark at your request and come out with this teeny tiny little plate with 4 half pieces of bread. I almost walked at that point. TOok our order and keep in mind that everything on the menu is ala carte. YOU want a salad with your mail:that's extra. YOU want potato,extra. YOU get the idea. M daughter ordered the turkey sandwich and it came with pasta salad that was served hot luke warm with some sort of green slop over it. THe turkey was actually pressed turkey and not fresh turkey or even deli quality turkey. I was blown away. She couldn' eat any of t because it made her sick to her stomach after trying it. MY husband ordered the pasta and it was prety unedible as well with over the top random seasoning and mini portion. He didn't eat half of it because he started to feel upset. MIne was the panko chicken with potatoes and grilled veggies. THis was the Worst of the 3. MY mashed potatoes were old and obvioulsy cooked and re cooked and recooked. THey were greyish brown and as I sit here am feeling sick to my stomach. The so called grilled vegetables had FREEZER BURN around the edges. THey obvioulsy cut them and keep huge ammounts frozen and take them out as needed. Mre old old old old food. Just GROSS and not edible!. THe service is another story. THe server takes her trips to disapear land and shows up with disgusting jold food . I'm sure the healthdepartment would not be pleased to know that this place serves old out dated food that is grey and has freezer burn issues. THe rices are out of control crazy for a product that is something i would not even expect from a low end diner. JUst Bad. If there was a 0 (Zero) rating that is what this dump would get. If you want to enjoy a delicious meal and are ok with spending , don't go here. Made each of us sick.gross

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aird a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewaterpr, Public Relations Manager at Blue Water Grill, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Our sincere apologies that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations. We will make every effort to ensure your next visit is amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Grill also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Blue Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing