We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Jamaica!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaican Dave's

Jamaican Dave's
Ranked #401 of 916 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True Jamaica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dave is as Jamaican as I am in love with hs food! I love this place and everyone should try this. Also dave is super nice and will tell you the secret to his jerk

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrGreen123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
458 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“get there early ..u wont be diappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

like the prior reviewer, we got to the spot an hour before closing. They only had two dishes left. we had the curry chicken and rice and the stew chicken with rice. i would have liked to try different dishes but these were just fine. J.Daves is in the back but that didnt matter to us. i loved the food and will be back earlier to try other specialties.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food if you can get it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stopped in for dinner, approximately two hours before closing. They were "all out" of the first five meals we requested, and our choices ended up being very limited and not at all what we had actually planned on. That said, the food was good and plentiful. Maybe it's a better spot for lunch?

Helpful?
Thank nettiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“What they lack in ambiance they make up for in good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

A typical hole in the wall, poor location (tucked at the end of a strip mall), cheap furnishings (Bob Marley posters and tourism posters), and our food was served in Styrofoam take out boxes with plastic utensils.

I am not an expert on Jamaican food, but I thought it was very good. I ordered the Jerked Chicken I thought it was very good. I also tried the curried chicken it was also very good.

All-in-all I enjoyed the whole experience especially the food. Though I kind of like the hole in the wall feel

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moneypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a mediocre location- worth seeking out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Jamaican Dave's is a tiny place at the end of a strip mall on Wealthy that you probably wouldn't notice in passing, but the food is worth seeking out. Dave is a nice guy and hangs out in front of the restaurant on nice days when business is slow. The curried goat is excellent- well-spiced and very tender. The portions are generous; a meal will get you an ample helping of meat, red beans and rice, a piece of fry bread, and two small sides of plantains and coleslaw.

The restaurant is very small, with a front counter and two booths that seem more for waiting than sitting down to eat. When I have gotten food there I have always received it take-out style. However, what it lacks in sit-down table service is certainly made up for by the flavor of the food and Dave's friendly demeanor.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koyangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamaican Dave's also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Jamaican Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing