We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a positive experience!”

Rose's on Reeds Lake
Ranked #19 of 1,059 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Gilmore family began their stewardship of the legendary Rose's On Reeds Lake in 1992. Rose's is the last remaining building from the Romona Park era – arguably the most colorful chapter in the history of East Grand Rapids. There are memories to be made and stories to be told at Rose's. The Gilmores are honored to bring their brand of dining and hospitality to the shores of Reeds Lake. The menu has gone through many changes over the years, but at its core, remains a pleasant fusion of Mediterranean, Italian and American cuisines. A few time-honored traditions remain on the menu–most notably Bub Rose's burger and Rose's legendary caramel corn. The atmosphere on the patio and four-season deck is peaceful with fantastic views over the lake. Continuing the legacy of Rose's On Reeds Lake is a passion that we share with co-workers and patrons alike. Enjoy great food. Make new memories. Share in the story.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Met my parents for lunch and after driving around for a bit for a parking spot we were promptly seated. Our server was quick to the table although it took a bit for her to return and take our order. After that, she was always available. I had the feature sandwich, the soft shell crab, Mom had the chicken salad and Dad had the peasant salad. We also ordered the root chips as an appetizer which we all devoured and would go back just for that! My sandwich was surprisingly light and we all shared some of it. The chicken salad was pretty runny and not sure that would be ordered again and Dad's salad was good but not great like the root chips and soft shell crab sandwich. We all agreed it was a pretty good meal.....the only downside being parking and initial slow service. But we'd go back!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dizluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at Rose's on Reeds Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We have many options on our menu so we encourage you to come back and try some other selections. Some of our crowd pleasers include the Walleye, Cranberry Turkey Sandwich, Farro Salad, Bruschetta, and the Salmon. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 400 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

Rose's on Reeds Lake is definitely considered a "hot spot" in East Grand Rapids. Established in 1901, this restaurant truly is part of the town's history and as you walk through the front hallway you will see pictures reflecting its long time charm. During the summer months, it is wonderful to sit outside and take in the sights from the lake. In the winter, it's very comfy and cozy in front of the fireplace.
The menu has a nice variety of options for everyone.... I would highly suggest starting off with their root chips as a light appetizer.
You will not be disappointed should your ventures include Rose's for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angeleyz827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at Rose's on Reeds Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Rose's! How interesting that the points you touched upon are what we strive to provide for our guests. We are very proud of Rose's rich heritage, our housemade Root Chips, and covered patio and deck. Please join us again soon and we will recommend some other tasty dishes you can try. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Long established restaurant on Reeds Lake in East Grand Rapids. Good and interesting menu (great Rueben and turkey/cranberry sandwiches, wood fired pizza), interior and exterior seating, beautiful view of the lake. Parking may be a little challenging on a busy day, like Sunday brunch. Prices are decent for the quality of food.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CZY4JAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at Rose's on Reeds Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thanks so much for your review! We really appreciate it. We hope you will join us again when the weather warms up and you can enjoy your lunch or dinner on the deck. Thank you, again, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Today I had lunch with friends at Rose’s. Although it was a rainy day, we had a nice window seat with a view of Reed Lake, and a cozy fire was glowing in the fireplace. I had a turkey cranberry sandwich with root chips. Everything was so fresh and tasty. A pleasant place to visit with friends.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PattiB273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at Rose's on Reeds Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Thank you for your recent visit to Rose's. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We encourage you to return when the weather will be warm and sunny so you can dine outside. We hope that will be SOON! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We came to celebrate a new job here for our daughter on a busy Friday night and had a blast. We were able to get right in and sit on couches on the patio for drinks and apps while we waited for a table. We had champagne...they have a well curated set of bubbly choices...and goat cheese, aoli and root chips for a starter. It took a while but we were enjoying ourselves. We got a table inside near the bar area at a high top which was ok. We were hungry! It took some time for our orders to find there way through the kitchen but the warm bread helped.

We enjoyed perch, seared yellowfin and beef tournedos and all were delicious. Both the server and the manager apologized for the kitchen delay and they comped our desserts which was a nice touch. We were so full we took them home (peanut butter pie...large slices so order it to share...it’s wonderful!)

All told we’ll keep coming back to Roses. The views, the food and the staff are all very good.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at Rose's on Reeds Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Bob, we are so happy you and your family joined us recently. Congratulations to your daughter on her new job position! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and hope you will join us again soon. Surely, the weather will warm up and you can dine outside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's on Reeds Lake also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Rose's on Reeds Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing