We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Marie Catrib's of Grand Rapids
Ranked #1 of 943 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've eaten at Marie Catrib's three or four times, and I've never really understood why it gets such great reviews. The food is ok, but honestly not thrilling enough to compensate for the relatively high prices and the long waits. The seating is cramped and uncomfortable, too. The Cherie Inn is less than a block away -- much nicer place, from my perspective!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nettiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    125
    36
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE place for breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Marie has been around for a while (like da UP, eh!), and she knows her way around the menu: soups, sandwiches, desserts, veggie/vegan. There are some really good places nearby, but they are always lined up here (so prepare to wait if you are anywhere near typical meal times). Everything is fresh and well put together. Kind of on the expensive side for what you get, but then again most of us don't buy the same quality of ingredients used. Empty tummy & full wallet? You will leave with the opposite feelings, but still very satisfied!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An experience you must try in Grand Rapids MI”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We started going there years ago and whenever new friends come to town we go there. Great food and great service! Love their breads. Lots of gluten free choices!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mewillE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

They offered a terrific farm fresh menu! Enjoyed the breakfast sitting at the breakfast bar and got to watch the kitchen in action. We went on a Saturday morning and had to wait almost 20 minutes but they offered a little treat from bakery to help pass the time. A great place for foodies!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAC592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go where the locals go”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you are travelling to Grand Rapids and you want a unique breakfast/lunch experience, check out Marie Catrib's. It is a combination of a restaurant/hip coffee house/old world bakery/deli. I can't say enough good things to describe the place. Marie's restaurant is full of all sorts of goodies, from standard fare to gluten-free and vegan delights. After being recently restricted to a gluten-free diet, it was only natural that my wife and I made the trip back across Grand Rapids to eat here. Marie overheard that I was GF, came running out of the kitchen and excitedly took us for a tour of her deli. Her passion for her work is evident. She has succeeded in being able to put "Moist and yummy" and "gluten-free" into the same description of her bakery items. After a short wait with a complementary cup of coffee, we ate breakfast. We usually find the potatoes to be a touch spicy, so they made them without spice for us. They were perfect!

Definitely check out Marie Catrib's. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Let's_go_see_it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Catrib's of Grand Rapids also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Marie Catrib's of Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing