We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place, very nice, been back man times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel over a dozen times and highly recommend it.
Very modern, clean, friendly staff, great restaurant (except outside when the bugs are out, as the hotel and restaurant patio are on the river and can attract bugs at night). The bar and restaurant 616 are very cool and very nice- I would recommend sushi over anything else on the menu. Rooms are very nice with good views all the way around. Pool area has a very nice steam shower.
This is certainly the nicest hotel in West Michigan.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tyn180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 979 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came to the hotel without reservations on a Saturday. The hotel was pretty booked so we were assigned a handicap room on the 12th floor. The room was very large and that may have been in part due to the handicap accessibility. The king size bed was very comfortable and the in room amenities were wonderful. I really enjoyed the chaise lounge type chair next to the window. We enjoyed cocktails in the Mixology lounge and the bartender was very welcoming. Breakfast from room service was served at our requested time and the food was still very warm and tasty. The location of the hotel is great for walking around downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

beautiful hotel on the Grand River in downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan. Customer service at it's best, from the moment you check in until the moment you drive away it is obvious that customer service is TOP priority. What a refreshing feel in todays non-customer oriented world. Beautiful hotel, beautiful view. Six on Six breakfast is fantastic. We will recommend to our friends and family and we will be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LakeMI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words regarding our staff and service levels! We strive every day to provide excellent customer service to our guests that exceeds their expectations. We recently completed a new training program with our associates called Symphony of Service - and this has helped us elevate our service levels even higher. Thanks so much for taking notice, and we hope to have you back very soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the JW for our wedding night last year but didn't really have a chance to utilize all the amenities so we returned for our anniversary this year and lived it up. The concierge lounge is top notch and you cannot beat the view of downtown, the pool/hot tub is great, and we loved the sauna. If you stay on the weekend and don't get brunch downstairs at 616, specifically a gourmet omelette, you are crazy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedheadRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us - both for your wedding night and for your recent visit! We are so glad you enjoyed both experiences, and had a chance to take in more of what our hotel has to offer on your second visit. We agree that the omelets in six.one.six are an absolute must! We hope to have you back for another memorable stay sometime soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location with beautiful river views. Spa-like bath--deep soaking tub, separate glass shower with awesome double sprays. Gorgeous floral arrangements in public areas and responsive, friendly service. Terrific eucalyptus steam room and delightful aromatherapy bath amenities. (As a matter of fact, that soothing subtle scent seemed to permeate lobby and hallways--nice touch! Only one downside--wireless service was inconsistent and sometimes slow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRGalIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking the time to share your comments with us and future guests! Our bathroom soaking tubs are indeed very popular! We are so glad you enjoyed that along with the Eucalytpus steam room and Aromatherapy Associates bath amenities. We apologize for the unreliable wifi you experienced - we were having technical problems during your stay and can ensure you the service will be much faster and reliable during your next stay. We hope to see you very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent one night at the JW Marriott -- excellent hotel. The room was very clean, spacious - loved the bathroom/shower! Very appreciative of the Starbucks in the hotel -- 2 thumbs up for that. Staff was very helpful -- very friendly....just what we would expect in Grand Rapids and the JW Marriott.

Room Tip: Great river view! Even though near the elevator -- was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your visit to Downtown Grand Rapids! We appreciate your comments and you taking the time to review your experience. I am so glad you enjoyed our on-site Starbucks! It is a favorite of guests and associates alike. Thank you as well for your kind words about our staff - we are so proud of what genuine, skilled associates we have. We hope to host you again very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed one night there due to a wedding nearby, and it was like a little vacation. It's been a long time since I've been really impressed with a hotel's customer service, but this one I was very pleased with. The hotel room was extremely comfy- big puffy bedding, turn down service with chocolates, separate tub and shower, decent bathroom amenities, mini fridge, and nice hangers in the closet. We had access to the Concierge Lounge, and I used it for coffee in the late afternoon. They had a nice coffee machine that used Illy coffee. The view was fantastic, as you could see along the river, and they had sweets available in the evening (along with free alcoholic drinks). The front desk was very courteous, and the nicely uniformed valet service was johnny on the spot. Breakfast at 616 was really really good. We had the buffet (it was Sunday morning) and they had awesome fresh fruit- blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, etc. Our waitress was very nice, quick, and friendly, and they served Illy coffee too. I made a reservation for breakfast, as I read somewhere that I should. It was pretty full when we were leaving, so it wouldn't hurt to make a reservation.

Room Tip: We had 20th floor, but no river view, it was a city view, but still interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 48 in Grand Rapids
241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $276 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing