We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great hotel centrally located in downtown within walking distance of most downtown attractions (museums, arena, restaurants). Although it was summer, one can appreciate that the hotel is connected to several downtown buildings via elevated walkway for comfort in the winter. The hotel has a decent sized indoor pool and sauna area, along with a nice work out facility. The 1 bedroom suite was very large and and had two seperate living areas with desks, tvs, beds, etc. The bathroom was large an included a jacuzzi tub and seperate shower. The concierge lounge was a bit basic and undersized for the hotel. The crowd easily overwhelmed the place for breakfast. However, the breakfast foods, coffee machine and staff were all great. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and were willing to go the extra mile on requests. The hotel bar was a bit on the small side and the drinks were pretty pricey for what you got, but not completely out of line for a downtown hotel. My family of 5 had a very enjoyable 6 night stay at the hotel. Plenty of room and access to local attractions and dining.

Room Tip: Water view is better than city view and a suite is very nice if you swing it. Access to the concier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereaminow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    153
    40
    22
    12
See reviews for
144
266
32
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were not disappointed with the quality of the room. It had a high level of materials and bedding. The staff was friendly and willing, as befits a high-level chain. At the restaurant, we found the staff friendly and the food well prepared. The prices charged at the restaurant for the buffet breakfast and lunch were reasonable. The Wi-Fi connection was free.

On the other side, the rooms were not overly large, but certainly adequate. The bath was smallish and odd shaped, with only a single sink and no separate toilet. The bath had both a tub and separate shower. Our room overlooked the parking deck roof, not a pretty view. Our check-in receptionist declined an upgrade to a better view, even though we are Marriott members.

Room Tip: higher-priced rooms have a river view; otherwise city rooftops except at the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frqunt_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel, with extremely comfortable bed, and accomodating staff; had excellent breakfast buffet and parking included in our rate.-- only thing my 7 year old missed was no chocolate on the pillow, like at other JW Marriott's we stayed at

Room Tip: High floor , facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed on the 22nd floor in a concierge suite and loved it! Room was large and clean, beds were super comfy. We even had turn-down service! The view of the city from our room was just gorgeous! Although pricy I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lives up to everything a JW should be. The room was perfectly appointed, the concierge lounge was well done, and the staff was very friendly and professional. The outdoor lounge is beautiful as well. We visited for a quick getaway and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jim3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
594 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an AWESOME hotel. Right along the river with a fantastic view and the rooms are amazing. The staff are SUPER friendly - very profession. A very nice experience. It was pretty nice for this Hilton guy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is urban chic. It is an extremely modern,clean,and service was great! The beds were extremely comfortable and drinks on the terrace were phenomenal! The hotel also has a very nice view and pool with two steam rooms and a hot tub. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Agjajkdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#14 of 50 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#15 of 50 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Property: JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing