We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“soundproofing issues??!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Niles, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“soundproofing issues??!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were at the hotel over the weekend for a graduation and did not get a wink of sleep. There was a party going on in the hall to which we called the front desk and reported. Obvisously, it did not help the situation.Part of that party was in the room next to us which we could hear everything going on as if they were in our room. Doors slamming in and out all night. This went on from 10pm at night till 6am in the morning. Is this a soundproof issue or bad management that night. We paid a lot of money to enjoy the views and be in a nice hotel. I am thinking we could have saved some money and had more sleep at a different hotel.Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids for graduation, and we sincerely apologize for the unacceptable experience you had. We pride ourselves on providing peaceful experiences for our guests and resolving issues like these quickly, and surely missed our mark during your stay. If you would please contact our Asst. General Manager at Brian.Behler@jwgr.com to provide more information about your stay, we would really appreciate it. This will help us avoid situations like these in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, and appreciate you sharing this important feedback with us.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    167
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
160
294
33
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A hotel of this level should have more than local TV and HBO. My wife and I called ahead to confirm they had a movie system. They said, "yes." Now that I am here, I have learned differently. I'm going to the Marriot!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk8erDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us - we know that you have many hotel options in Grand Rapids and appreciate you selecting our hotel for your visit. We apologize for any confusion or malfunctioning of our video system. We do indeed offer On-Demand videos in our guest rooms, and are concerned that maybe the system was not working correctly in your room. Would you please follow up with us so we can get more information and make sure this issue has been corrected? If you would be so kind to contact Brian Behler at Brian.Behler@jwgr.com we would really appreciate it.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our infant sons for 2 nights for the Riverbank 25K run.

When we arrived, the valet and bell service greeted us and helped with our many bags. We used the valet service throughout our stay ($25 per day) and asked for our car many times in those 2 days. They always had the car waiting for us within a few minutes of the call to the desk.

The pool area has a hot tub, pool, and 2 steam rooms (adult only).

There is a very nice restaurant and bar on the premises as well as a spa that offers services in room or in spa.

This hotel has so many amenities that you don't need to leave, but if you choose to, it is in the heart of Grand Rapids. Restaurants, Van Andel Arena, DeVos Performance Hall, DeVos Place, and several museums are all within a few blocks. On a cold or rainy day, you can access most of these locations by using the SkyWalk, which is an indoor walkway that connects the JW Marriott with most of downtown.

Room Tip: This hotel is downtown, so if you ask for a higher floor, you will either get a nice view of the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

- Beautiful and relatively new hotel
- Great location by the river
- Nice rooms
- One of the best concierge lounges I have experienced in the U.S
- Nice and courteous staff
- Six One Six restaurant and bar was excellent – Had two meals there

Room Tip: Get room with concierge lounge access (Free breakfast, snacks and drinks in evening and dessert at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! We are glad you so enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated the Concierge Lounge and six.one.six restaurant. Like you, many of our guests recommend staying on a floor with Concierge Lounge access when they come to stay with us again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel looks to have been recently remodeled and was done so in a modern style. The staff was friendly and the hotel was in great shape. We had a room on the 14th floor with a river view which was beautiful The people in Grand Rapids tend to be friendly and eager to help newcomers. Our room was close to the elevators but you really couldn't tell. Wonderful stay and great value. The exercise room was fine but is in need of upgraded cardio machines.

Room Tip: Pick the river view on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
418 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location when visiting Grand Rapids, central to shopping, museums, theater and located on the river. Hotel staff is very knowledgable and friendly. Rooms are contemporary, clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you are traveling on business, there are a few things you want: 1) convenience to the city's downtown, 2) a comfortable bed (maybe even more comfortable than home; 3) staff that help you solve problems; and 4) a great hotel gym.

This hotel scores highly on all counts. The hotel staff has printed documents that I left behind for a deposition, the gym is amazing, the bed is great, and the overall hotel is beautiful and comfortable. I love staying here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank metsfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Property: JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing