We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, perfect location - everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our infant sons for 2 nights for the Riverbank 25K run.

When we arrived, the valet and bell service greeted us and helped with our many bags. We used the valet service throughout our stay ($25 per day) and asked for our car many times in those 2 days. They always had the car waiting for us within a few minutes of the call to the desk.

The pool area has a hot tub, pool, and 2 steam rooms (adult only).

There is a very nice restaurant and bar on the premises as well as a spa that offers services in room or in spa.

This hotel has so many amenities that you don't need to leave, but if you choose to, it is in the heart of Grand Rapids. Restaurants, Van Andel Arena, DeVos Performance Hall, DeVos Place, and several museums are all within a few blocks. On a cold or rainy day, you can access most of these locations by using the SkyWalk, which is an indoor walkway that connects the JW Marriott with most of downtown.

Room Tip: This hotel is downtown, so if you ask for a higher floor, you will either get a nice view of the ent...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 968 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

- Beautiful and relatively new hotel
- Great location by the river
- Nice rooms
- One of the best concierge lounges I have experienced in the U.S
- Nice and courteous staff
- Six One Six restaurant and bar was excellent – Had two meals there

Room Tip: Get room with concierge lounge access (Free breakfast, snacks and drinks in evening and dessert at n...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! We are glad you so enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated the Concierge Lounge and six.one.six restaurant. Like you, many of our guests recommend staying on a floor with Concierge Lounge access when they come to stay with us again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel looks to have been recently remodeled and was done so in a modern style. The staff was friendly and the hotel was in great shape. We had a room on the 14th floor with a river view which was beautiful The people in Grand Rapids tend to be friendly and eager to help newcomers. Our room was close to the elevators but you really couldn't tell. Wonderful stay and great value. The exercise room was fine but is in need of upgraded cardio machines.

Room Tip: Pick the river view on an upper floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location when visiting Grand Rapids, central to shopping, museums, theater and located on the river. Hotel staff is very knowledgable and friendly. Rooms are contemporary, clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you are traveling on business, there are a few things you want: 1) convenience to the city's downtown, 2) a comfortable bed (maybe even more comfortable than home; 3) staff that help you solve problems; and 4) a great hotel gym.

This hotel scores highly on all counts. The hotel staff has printed documents that I left behind for a deposition, the gym is amazing, the bed is great, and the overall hotel is beautiful and comfortable. I love staying here.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank metsfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good rapport price-value, friendly staff who seemed to enjoy making their guests welcome. Room clean, properly equipped. Decent range of lotions, potions etc in the bathroom. Strong breakfast buffet. Easy parking. Looking hard for a gripe... Maybe a bit corporate, architecture a bit cold-be-anywhere. Which is maybe a feature of Grand Rapids itself. But the midwestern friendliness of the team makes up for it. Pas mal!

Room Tip: High floor corner room with view of Gand River and Ford library.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senechaldubaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a loyal Marriott traveler and always enjoy my stays at the JW Grand Rapids. Just stayed for one night this week and as always, the stay was flawless. Room on the 22nd floor overlooking the river was great.The concierge lounge with excellent fare and complimentary cocktails, wine & beer is one of the best I have seen!!

The only "must" stay in the City!!

Room Tip: High Floor with River view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and for giving us the honor of being called a "must" for those staying in Grand Rapids. We hope that you will continue to stay with us time and time again when you are visiting the city, and are so glad that you enjoyed our concierge lounge! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#19 of 48 in Grand Rapids
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $294 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing