We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CityFlatsHotel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
131 Hotel-Plaza(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveler rating
751
181
48
28
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
181
48
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungeeucalyptus steam roomseparate tubgreat hoteldouble showerriver viewroom serviceupscale hotelself parkinghigh floorart prizebusiness tripcorner roomconvention centerfront desk staffdowntown gracross the river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am always making excuses to come and stay here. Beautiful hotel with a great staff and wonderful views of the city. It is right on the river making it easy to take a stroll and access many attractions in the area. Rooms are comfy and bathrooms are very nice. Definitely feels luxurious. You will feel well rested in the morning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoonscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review! We hope that you come up with many more excuses to come stay with us again soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is amazing from top to bottom! The restaurants are amazing with great food. The rooms are so nice and modern! And the staff is also very kind and helpful! The concierge desk is very helpful is letting you know of where to go downtown. Another great thing is that it is right on the Grand River so the view is amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyndra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The JW is a beautiful hotel. I'm not much for big chain hotels, but this was a nice surprise...something I did not expect for Grand Rapids.

The hotel is 'football shaped' so the lobby is not what you would expect, sort of crescent shaped with informal-looking restaurant booths and a bar looking out on the river.

Upstairs the rooms are compact, but are nicely appointed with floor to ceiling windows and thick curtains to keep out the light. Beds are luxuriously firm with 4 big pillows on each bed. Bathrobes, small fridge, and nice mini bar sink. Bathroom is beautiful--with a big piece of art over the bath tub and a separate shower. Very nice.

On the third floor is a very nice fitness room (with good light) and a beautiful indoor pool. I usually don't like indoor pools (with their saturated chlorine smelling air) but this pool was beautiful with large windows giving it an outdoor feel. There are two wet saunas--one eucalyptus scented and the other unscented. Very nice! If they are not working call the front desk and they will fix it for you.

Our room was on the concierge floor so we had access to the lounge. Evening snacks included wine, cheese, and some fried fritters. Cold drinks in fridge and salted snacks. Breakfast was very nice with pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt parfaits, yogurt, juice, fancy coffee machine, toast, mini-bagels, locks, cured meats. Very nice. The only thing I would say is don't get there at 9:30am. By then the food is running out and they are hesitant to order more from the kitchen. We went by at 7:30am and the spread was beautiful. Later on it was very very thin. Hosts were a bit grumpy because so many people were requesting more food since everything was out.

Quick tip: if you are parking, check to see that the parking lot is manned before you pay for your parking. We paid at the machine just before the bridge to the parking structure. When we got to the parking attendant we realized that no one was manning the lot and the parking was free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting this very thorough review of your experience! We are so glad you were able to experience the Concierge Lounge - many of our guests find that they cannot stay without it once they have tried it! We are taking your comments about the food running out and attitude of the staff very seriously and will use that to improve. So glad you enjoyed the lovely fitness center, pool area, and steam rooms! We hope that you will stay with us again sometime soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First the bad. Room was not madeup one day and it took TWO phone calls to get "service". I use the term "service" loosely as when the room was finally attended to, towels left on the floor were re-hung instead of changed, no coffee, and toiletries not replenished. Given these obvious missteps, I certainly did not trust the other cleaning details that should have ben addressed. Extremely disappointing and not up to JW standards - I hope! Also, please get a real faucet in bathroom. Non-aerated trickle was nearly useless and control looked nice but was nearly impossible to regulate to an acceptable temp.

Everything else was near perfect. This is relatively new so decor, furnishings, etc. were all in great shape. Floor to ceiling windows with great veiw. If you like contemporary - very nice. If you like old-world, go next dorr to Amway Grand.

Room Tip: Low rating for cleanliness is attributed to lack of trust due to poor room cleaning service.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJK810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids, and for reviewing your experience. We appreciate your very important and helpful feedback regarding housekeeping and the condition of your room. As you assumed, this is far below our standards and was a serious error on the part of our staff. We will address the situation and use your feedback to improve. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and look forward to seeing you!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott for the NCAA Ice Hockey Championship in March. Grand Rapids was much cooler than expected -- but I didn't have many expectations. The hotel was what you'd expect from a JW -- top quality, solid, clean rooms and modern facilities.

The staff (and generally, the people in Grand Rapids) were amazingly nice and helpful. And the price was $149/night ... could be a great weekend escape and I'd like to come back. Many tremendous restaurants, etc. downtown and everything was walkable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyhalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews