We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Grand Rapids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Downtown Grand Rapids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location. An excellent hotel. Love the Sunday brunch (smaller then most but still one of the best). This is a pricy hotel but the food is great and the price is fair for what you get ... The hotel is also close to a great choice of places to eat from super expensive to bar food. Regardless of your budget there a place close by to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. The extra cost is worth it. They also have specials for weekend dates... Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing this review! We are glad that you appreciate the value that our hotel provides for the price. We take pride in providing an outstanding experience for our guests - from the quality of the rooms to the level of service to the flavor of the food we serve. We are glad you took note. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    165
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
157
290
33
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
490 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Modern hotel with room, service and ammenities you would expect from a JW. Overall hotel feels a little cold, mostly due to the public areas. Nice concierge lounge with a good breakfast. Parking was overpriced for this market.

Room Tip: There doesnt seem to be a bad side to this hotel so try for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've now stayed at the J.W. Marriott in Grand Rapids three times, three nights at a time, over the last three years or so. This has always been one of my favorites and is better each time I stay there. The rooms are neat and clean, thoughtfully laid out and have all the amenities I need. As an example, there are plenty of places to plug things in throughout the room. The shower is roomy and has dual heads with plenty of pressure. Turn down service is provided; a thing not seen much on this side of the pond. The only meal I took there was the breakfast buffet. It is among the best I've ever had, with a nice mix of American and European types of food. The wait staff is universally friendly. I especially liked being handed a hot to-go cup of coffee for the road each day. There is a skyway connecting the Marriott to the DeVos Center (conventions and performing arts) as well as numerous other buildings. I'll not stay anywhere else when in Grand Rapids and will look for opportunities to stay at other J.W. Marriotts in other cities.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room at least a few stories up. I was in room 915, a corner room, and had an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us repeatedly, and for sharing this fabulous review about your experiences with us. When the JW Marriott Grand Rapids was built, we paid special attention to details like making sure there were ample outlets, cords, and connections so that you could conduct business easily from your room - as well as having all the luxurious bathroom amenities that help make your stay enjoyable. I am glad that you appreciate the wonderful breakfast buffet and restaurant staff, who take so much pride in the quality of food and service at six.one.six. We can't wait to have you back again! See you soon.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed in Marriott's all over the country. I love Grand Rapids and was looking forward to my stay at the JW. I found it to be adequate until I had a dispute over my bill. I have never had this type of issue before and found the staff to be slow to respond to my requests for an explanation and unable to provide reasonable justification. Needless to say, I will never be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWarrior42794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing this important feedback with us. Please contact our Director of Rooms, Brian Behler, at Brian.Behler@jwgr.com so that he can gather more information about your experience and make sure that a discrepancy like this does not occur again. We appreciate your input and hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a business trip and I have stayed at this hotel previously. Similar to those previous stays, it is clean and has quality service. It is within easy walking distance to other restaurants in the downtown area. The rooms are nice and their meeting room faciltiy is also quite good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed here a few times on business, so this review is not based upon just one visit. If you are staying in the area, this is definitely where you want to stay.

The rooms (though not overly large) are modern, functional, clean, etc. The service (whether in their restaurant or concierge lounge) is impeccable and the food is good as well. Great views, as the hotel sits right next to the river, affording some nice vistas and walks around the area (in good weather). While there, cross the river and visit the Gerald Ford Museum -- truly a trip down memory (not always good ones) lane.

Most importantly, the staff at the hotel is just terrific. And that is what separates good from bad hotels in many instances.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ActiveTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

High-end hotel that caterers to children....yes the JW Marriott did all of this while be walking distance to the Children's museum. Even the early evening entertainment int he lobby was welcoming to my little one. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Everything is walking distance make sure to bring good shoes. Also, they don't mention that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Property: JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing