We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but a bit over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but a bit over priced”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms looking out at the river are excellent. The staff are very friendly and The hotel is perfectly located at the center of downtown. You can walk to so many things in this beautiful city. The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet with a wonderful variety of food. The only down side I have for this hotel is the price. I do not mind paying for a great quality hotel but every year the price goes up by a large amount. We have stayed at this hotel every year in January for the past 4 years but this year we are considering a hotel that is priced a bit less. With a family the price might be just out of our budget range.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie40Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    171
    45
    24
    15
See reviews for
166
296
33
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. The staff is fantastic; the rooms are spotless. Beyond that, you are right in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids close to art museums, restaurants and shopping. The restaurant is fantastic! Treat yourself to a stay here.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the river view and overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyFooted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This past weekend was our first time in Grand Rapids and our first time at the JW Marriott. This hotel goes over the top in customer service from the check in process to check out. Any member of the staff you meet is smiling and has a "how can I assist you" attitute. We were there for my husbands birthday so we asked for and were given an upgrade to the concierge level. The staff there was very friendly and the snacks and desserts were delicious, plus a wonderful selection of wines. We had some spa treatments and the staff at the spa were wonderful, very professional. The hotels restaurant has a breakfast to die for. Complete with "Chef Elvis" making an incredible made to order omelette. We ordered room service which came quickly, was warm and the staff that delivered the food was so sweet. We travel quite a bit and this is our new favorite Marriot hotel. Kudos to the management there, you know what you are doing:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSTTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words! Thank you, as well, for choosing to stay with us while you were visiting Grand Rapids for the first time and celebrating your husband's birthday. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience our Concierge Lounge, delicious room service, and - of course - Chef Elvis' famous omelettes. We are fortunate to have such an incredible staff that is so dedicated to providing all our guests with an extraordinary experience. We look forward to creating another extraordinary experience for you when you are next in Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After years of staying at the Amway Grand Plaza next door, we decided to give the JW Marriott a try. Even though my husband's conference was at the Amway, it was a good choice! The rooms are clean and luxurious,especially the bedding. We also liked that we had two bathrobes (not one) to use. There could be an improvement in the bathroom, however....add some towel racks. The sink area is small and there is no place to put hand towels. The other issue is that we were placed on the 13th floor with a bunch of obnoxiously loud kids' hockey teams. We could hear all their (shouting) conversations clearly through the door and walls. Not only that, they were running and yelling up and down the hallways. Where were their parents? When we complained to the front desk on our way out for dinner, desk clerk apologized and said to be sure and let them know if it happened again. Next time, we would for sure stay on one of the upper floors because I don't think they were placing the hockey teams there....at least according to people we were talking to in the elevators. It would be worth the money to not have to listen to that noise. I am a teacher and mom and can deal with kid noise. I just don't want to hear it in a luxury hotel weekend with my husband!!

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge level...we didn't and were sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriss j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We wanted to go on a weekend getaway somewhere close to home and chose this hotel based on other reviews. The reviews did not lie! This hotel is beautiful. Lobby bar and restaurant are very good. Rooms are super clean and comfortable. Luxury bedding made for a great nite sleep. Big bathroom with spa like shower! Outstanding service from everyone from doorman to maids! Also walking distance to just about anything downtown. I don't know about any other hotels in GR but this one is fantastic. Also lots of great restaurants in the area, jut ask the hotel to recommend one.

Room Tip: others said rooms on higher floors had better views and more benefits. I'm not sure because my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hard to see how this hotel could be any better. Would fit right in in Manhattan or Chicago. No reason to stay anywhere else in Grand Rapids-especially considering how reasonable the rates are!

Six-One-Six restaurant onsite was fantastic as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank crickettrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids, and for your extraordinary compliment. Our hotel and city often come as a surprise to first-time visitors, as its beauty and sophistication are much better than most expect. Having you note that our hotel would fit in Manhattan or Chicago is a distinct honor. We hope to host you again the next time you are visiting the area.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it brief because I thought this place was great.

The room was modern, big and the bathroom was fantastic with a big bath and separate walk in shower. It was ultra clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

There's free wifi that covers the whole hotel and the staff were great from reception to the bar and restaurant. On the subject of food and drink, the bar had a great atmosphere at night and breakfast was first class, unfortunately I didn't eat dinner at the hotel.

To summarise, when I'm next back in Grand Rapids I won't be looking for another hotel to stay at, this place will do me just fine.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#14 of 49 in Grand Rapids
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Property: JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing