We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just stayed at jw in Indianapolis and loved it so we were trying it September 7 for our anniversary weekend, we are hoping fo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Best hotel experience so far hoping for the best on September 7! Can't wait!


We just stayed at jw in Indianapolis and loved it so we were trying it September 7 for our anniversary weekend, we are hoping for a really awesome room we had awesome experience in Indianapolis we are hoping for the same too but with a little more romance! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Convertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 970 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Other than not hiring my children, they are a pretty good hotel. We stayed there for two nights during the art festival and loved it. The rooms are typical appearing, but luxury end linens add to the quality of the stay, granite, etc. Other than that, I have always thought hotels, even high end, need to step up the room and offer a bit more, if they are charging a higher per night rate.

Room Tip: View of the River is nice...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I surprised my husband with a relaxing get-a-way for his semi-retirement gift. From the time we arrived at the JW, till the time we left to go home, we were treated with a smile, professionalism, courtesy and respect.

The view over the river was magnificent! The meals were wonderful, and the location was fabulous for walking and visiting museums. The one-hour carriage was well worth the money and the driver was courteous and knowlegible. The children's museum, with very modest entry fee, was excellent for all ages.

The Saturday evening live-band was too loud for our taste and it reverberated throughout the building. At least the music stopped at 10:30 p.m., which was reasonable. The room had two queen sized beds, which we requested. However it made the room seem smaller than I expected.

All in all we were very pleased.

All in all, the cost of the trip was well worth it for this special occasion. We hope to be able to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: The river view is beautiful. The city view is said to be beautiful, also.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

What a fantastic wife you are! Thank you for choosing our hotel as part of your surprise celebration for your husband. Our city certainly offers many affordable things to do - like the museums - that make for a nice getaway. We also hope that you are able to stay with us again soon, and appreciate you sharing your review!

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to another destination. While the room was very nice, with a nice view, we noticed later that night we could hear everything in the halls. Since it was Saturday, lots of college kids were there and kept waking us up. On a better note, while small and hard to get a rez, the restaurant food was fantastic. We tried to sit on the patio, but the hostess said all tables out there were reserved- even though we could see many were empty- again everything at this place is tiny, even the patio. Next time, we will stay at the Amway Grand, it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laduke09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids, and for sharing about your experience. We're glad you liked your guest room and the wonderful food at our restaurant, but are sorry to hear that other parts of your stay were less enjoyable. Our hotel is much smaller than the neighboring Amway Grand Plaza Hotel - we are glad to be able to offer very different, yet both high-quality, facilities at the two hotels so that guests have some variety. We hope to see you in Grand Rapids again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I made this hotel our last stop on our honeymoon road trip. We had stayed at the Amway next door for the weekend of our engagement and loved the location, so we decided to stay at the JW Marriott for something a little different on our honeymoon. We were NOT disappointed! Wonderful room with an awesome view of the river. Stayed on the concierge level and enjoyed a glass of wine with the sunset in the concierge lounge. The bathroom was top notch and the bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Breakfast offered in the concierge lounge was one of the best (free) buffets I have ever had at a hotel. Loved reading the Grand Rapids Magazine in the chaise type chair and planning our day. The pool was unique and the parking convenient as was the sky walk attaching many of the local buildings in city center area. We cant wait to come back in Novemeber for our first "vacation weekend as a married couple". We did not use the spa so I cannot comment on those services.

Room Tip: Paying extra for the concierge level is worth it if you take advantage of the lounge and its many of...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoyasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your honeymoon with us! We are always flattered when guests choose to celebrate special events at the hotel. The concierge level is indeed fabulous - many guests who try it never stay without it again. Thank you for all of your kind words about our hotel, and we look forward to seeing you on your first vacation weekend as a married couple! Might I recommend a couples massage so you can try out the spa?

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here on Aug. 9th-11th with our kids, ages 10 & 8, for a few days before our trip to MIchigan's Adventure. Check-in went smoothly, we were given a river view room and we were supposed to have a city view, but the view is so beautiful, I wasn't complaining! We got to our room, on the 16th floor, kitty corner from the elevator. I thought this might be a problem with noise, but we never had any issues. The pool is beautiful, the kids loved swimming, I was able to swim/watch them & relax. The fitness center was very nice, clean, had treadmills, ellipticals, free weights, machines, etc. It rained the entire time we were there, which wasn't a problem, our kids just wanted to stay in our hotel & swim! Then go back to their "fancy" hotel room & relax. Fine with me. On our last night there, a band was playing in the lobby. My husband took our son down to listen, very nice. Another great stay at the JW, I will be returning with my husband in December.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemonie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

What a wonderful time for your family! We are so thrilled to hear that enjoying the pool and hotel saved your getaway from being a disappointment due to the weather. We pride ourselves on keeping the hotel a lively and beautiful place where guests of all ages can enjoy a relaxing stay, and love hearing about family vacation stories like this one. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Thank you for sharing this.

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

All the things you would expect from a top flight city hotel. Room size was disappointing. Common areas not maintained as well as one would expect. Smell from resturant off of the main lobby was obnoxious. On the plus side,staff was responsive and polite. Great views of the city at night. Nice fitness center and pool. Would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting the JW Marriott Grand Rapids and for sharing your feedback. We're so glad you noticed how outstanding our staff members are - we are proud of what a wonderful team we have here. However, we are sorry to hear that you found other parts of the hotel unsatisfactory - especially the maintenance. If you could follow up with our Director of Rooms, Brian Behler, and let him know exactly what you observed we would love the opportunity to improve. His email address is bbehler@jwgr.com. Thanks again for sharing your review!

At your service,

C. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#20 of 48 in Grand Rapids
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $294 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing