We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel for casual or seasoned traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We travel frequently and this was one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. Super-clean, elegant and comfortable, not at all pretentious. Every detail was thought out. The staff was beyond accommodating and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Kevin checked us in and was as gracious and obliging as they come. The pool room, hot tub and saunas were clean and the kids loved them. This hotel had an exceptional breakfast buffet that we felt was actually under-priced. Although this is clearly a business hotel, it was warm and inviting and didn't feel at all sterile. We didn't feel silly staying there as a family as with most such places. The downtown location is clean, safe and great for walking. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev_heber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 970 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

I am fortunate to be able to stay frequently at the JW Marriott in Downtown Grand Rapids for business. I consider it my home away from home in GR. From the time I pull into the valet until I am on my way home at the end of my stay (whether it's a single overnight or an extended visit), the entire staff of the JW makes me feel like a VIP! The staff always greets me by name, with a smile and does everything it can to go above and beyond my expectations. I often refer clients and colleagues to the JW because I know they'll be well taken care of, which reflects back on my recommendation. Definitely one of Michigan's premier hotels!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the concierge level...it offers added security and access to the lounge, with happ...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent a weekend at the JW. Check-in was quick & efficient. The rooms are very nicely appointed, I loved the chaise. Large bath with seperate tub & shower. The room was very quiet. Great views of the Grand river.

The "sky-walks" to the convention center is a big plus with inclement weather. We also tried the in-house resto "One Six One". Great ecclectic dining. Imaginative offerings such as rabbit, sushi, and steak. We opted for the "smalls" splitting a wide array of tapas.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Ahh, the JW in Grand Rapids... what does it mean to me? It means a reliably great experience every single time I visit Grand Rapids!
Love the hotel & layout itself, and is located in the heart of downtown on the river... in summer it's nice to sit outside in their newly created outdoor lounge area, in winter it's, um - pretty to look at from way up in your room!
What do I love about the J Dub? The shower in the rooms - two heads - so decadent, and let's face it - a lovely way to start your day! The gym is great - not huge but I've never had to wait for the machine I want in three years... The service - I'm not sure if it's a midwestern thing, or unique to Grand Rapids, but I always feel welcome when I come here.... great service that is personable, not obsequious...it just makes me happy.
I often eat at their restaurant because I'm too lazy to venture out, and love their mussels and spicy tuna roll... the steak is pretty fab too, as are many selections on their ever-changing menu...
If you are visiting Grand Rapids and want a friendly, hip place to stay in the heart of downtown - you can't do better!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the river - you will have an amazing view for miles!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niquaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriott-GRapids, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Niquaa,

Thank you for that great review. It is always refreshing to hear compliments about not only the hotel but the service that we provide. You brought up a great point about our restaurant. Our menu items are locally grown and fresh. The menu changes four times a year depending on what is in season in Michigan.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!!

At Your Service,

C. Maguire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with our kids ages 6, 3 & 1. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The beds were great. The bathrooms were big. We ordered room service for breakfast and that was good as well. The pool was freezing cold but still nice. Our kids found our 13th floor view to be great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveln5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I travel for business quite a bit and this is my favorite hotel to stay at in the Grand Rapids area. It's very clean, the rooms are nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. I stayed on the concierge level and it was very quiet. Breakfast was great too and included lots of fresh fruit, hot dishes and fancier fare.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a great hotel with very comfortable rooms. First time here but easy to walk to restaurants and other areas in town. Nice bar area and large conference facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#20 of 48 in Grand Rapids
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $294 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing