We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel, Odd location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Odd location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed one night (Thursday) and had a decent experience. I agree that the hotel is a little hard to find as it's not on the main road, but rather, it's way behind a Target store in the middle of an open area next to a wetland. Overall it is quite close to a lot of restaurants and just a few miles from a mall. The hotel seems to be on the newer side so that's a plus. The beds are the typical Hampton Inn awesome!! I would stay here again. The only mild complaint I have is that the house keeping staff was a bit aggressive during my stay... they knocked on my door pretty early and I get the impression from talking to the employee that she wanted me out of the room as soon as possible so she could get in and start cleaning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    124
    37
    19
    7
See reviews for
145
78
28
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed for four nights at this hotel. It was located close to my business destination. The room was big but it was no fridge. The breakfast was good like in other Hapmpton Inn hotels. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aklyuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staff were outstanding. The view out our window of the lake/pond with hundreds of waterfowl floating around, was very pleasant and relaxing. The room was clean, and the breakfast was very nice. Beds and pillows made for a great sleep. Several staff members were very helpful, but we would like to specifically thank Sarah for her awesome job of doing everything she could to make sure we got a second room for a last minute added member of our travel party!

Room Tip: Ask for an East facing room for a view of the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRAirport, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and staff. Sarah thanks you for the great comment about her as well.We cant wait to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a large group for a wedding, the staff was beyond amazing, they were all very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, beds were pretty comfortable too. I didnt get a chance to use the pool, if there was a pool, but breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mclouthcrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the great comments regarding your stay! We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time while staying with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Being a category 2 hotel I booked an award night there. Since it took very few rewards points I did not expect much, in fact I was afraid of the hotel. However there was nothing wrong with the hotel, very standard room, bed, breakfast etc. Altogether a middle of the road Hampton inn at very favorable terms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRozsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the response regarding your recent stay. Your comments allow us to alway work on our service and product. We are happy to hear the value you received exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is an updated Hampton Inn. People have said it's hard to find the hotel but if you turn like you are going to Target, at the stop sign before Target's parking lot turn left and go around until you see the small Hampton sign on left (1st left). Go left and you'll see it. It's next to Springhill suites behind to the left of Target.
The beds are comfortable and a little bit firmer pillows which was nice. Rooms fairly quiet though I use a noise machine. Room clean. Hotel very nice. Exercise room with treadmill, elliptical, and stepper.
Breakfast area ok but food out 1st morning and 2nd at 7:15am the eggs with ham and cheese were cool.
All in all otherwise a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Keeping it very simple:

The staff is awesome! A special note goes out to Justin at the front desk. He was awesome - but everyone is so polite and helpful and they seem genuinely happy to help you!

Good breakfast, nice coffee bar, the "to-go" breakfast bags were a great touch! Super clean rooms. Fast Internet. And I really appreciate the fact that their televisions had a great signal and lots of channels. They use DirecTV. Big difference from other hotels in the area! So many have crappy signals or very limited channel choices.

Every stay you get a freshly cleaned duvet and bedding. I don't know of any other hotel who does that! So clean. Meticulously clean!

Thanks for a great stay! I won't stay anywhere else when I return to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WGN5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 52 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Address: 5200 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-7704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take the stress out of flying here at the Hampton Inn & Suites?? hotel in Grand Rapids-Airport/28th Street, MI. Just one-half mile from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport, it takes a mere five minutes to get to the terminal from our hotel. Grand Rapids itself lies just minutes away and offers a huge array of amenities and activities to please any business traveler or family on vacation. Within just a few miles of our hotel in Grand Rapids you'll find golf, bowling, shopping, an ice arena, horseback riding and many of the city's best-known businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St Hotel Grand Rapids
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing