We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Recommendation for GR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Muskegon, MI
1 review
“#1 Recommendation for GR!”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

It can be hard to find a nice hotel at a decent price. However, Country Inn & Suites is a GREAT hotel- with reasonable rates! It is conveniently located on the East Beltline and 96. There is a Meijer just down the road if you happened to forget anything, but the hotel has an extensive list of toiletries (even things like pantyhose!) available to you if you need them. One of my friends had trouble finding their way to the hotel, but when they called the front desk graciously helped them out with directions.

From the minute I walked in, I was impressed. The foyer is impeccably clean, and stunning. Someone else was being helped at the desk when I arrived, but I was greeted warmly regardless. Another employee heard me being greeted and came out from the office to check me in. The room was spacious and CLEAN. I remember looking and the countertop and thinking it was wet, but when I touched it I realized it was just so clean it sparkled. The beds were comfortable (with plenty of pillows!) and were a welcome retreat at the end of our night. Our suite came with a fridge and a microwave, which both came in handy during our stay.We also had two sizable flat-screen TVs. No HD on the TVs, but that's the least of my worries when I'm traveling.

My favorite find during my stay- the bathroom toiletries! Sounds funny, I know, but I really appreciated finding brand name shampoo, conditioner, and lotion that I was familiar with as opposed to bland, cheap toiletries. My hair wasn't dried out and the lotion actually absorbed into my skin.

First we went to dinner at Malarky's which shares a parking lot with Country Inn. You get 10% off of your bill if you bring your room key! Then we went to downtown Grand Rapids for the evening, it only took us a few minutes by car to get there. Because we weren't familiar with the area, we stopped at the front desk and asked for directions- again the staff was very willing to help and friendly.

Breakfast the next morning was hot and satisfying! Definitely a nice change from the typical cold continental. Check out wasn't until noon (LOVE!), and when we did check out all we had to do was leave the keys in the room and call the desk to let them know we were leaving. No need to worry about juggling bags and going to the front desk. This will definitely be my first choice when returning to Grand Rapids- thank you Country Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysHard2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Assistant General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, December 3, 2009
Thank you so much for your review. It is reviews like that will help us grow.

Sincerely,


Sarah DeRooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    201
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
370
191
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruce Co.
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I traveled to Grand Rapids on business and took my wife and two children along for the trip. This hotel has all the amenities necessary for a business stay. It also has a warm and comfortable lodge like foyer which gives the place a family feel. Were I away from home and using Grand Rapids as a base for a few days, this place has a relaxing friendliness which would help blunt the edge of being on the road.

The rooms are nicely sized. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast was the standard fare for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TweednBriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My stay at this hotel was wonderful! The beds were very comfortable. I had a maid that took very good care of the room. The staff was very accomodating and exceedingly friendly!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovegaylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I have stayed in a large range of hotels--price points from about $50 to well over $500 per night. This hotel had by far the best value: very high quality in every way, and an unbeatable room rate. The icing on the cake is their small museum dedicated to the men and women of their area who had served in the armed services across our nation's history.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailmarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Great place for a business traveler who wants to relax after a rough day. Quiet and Secure with a great ambiance and within a short drive of a number of good restaurants, Not your normal quick pit stop motel. Nice features with lots of space.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fujibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed at this hotel during our daughters recent wedding weekend. It was easy on and off the highways and close to the reception area. Grand Rapids Malls were a short 2 miles away.Very friendly staff that made us feel very welcome and they helped us with any requests. Breakfast was included and was good. It was a pleasure to stay in this family friendly clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otterb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We were there for only a short time, to sleep and for breakfast. There were many services we didn't have time to experience. We heard no neighboring occupants, not even people passing in the hallway. We would definitely stay here again and try to take advantage of all they had to offer. The breakfast room was spacious and pleasant. The only unappealing item was the unnaturally yellow, round eggs as part of the breakfast choices.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaMotherteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
4.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
956 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Address: 3251 Deposit Dr NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-1465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is it like to Be Our Guest at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? It's a family getaway, with all the comforts of home. It's feeling free to borrow a book from our library, sit by the fireplace, or relax in the whirlpool. It's a hot breakfast that is always free and friendly staff that is always ready to help. But most of all, it's feeling like a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids East
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing