We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite hotel and chain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite hotel and chain!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked a room for a holiday weekend at the last minute, having never stayed at a Country Inn & Suites before. Now we think this is our favorite chain for family trips.

We upgraded to a suite -- living room with desk and TV, bedroom with two queen beds and another TV -- and that turned out to be a great choice. I had work to finish late at night, and I was able to get that done without disturbing the rest of the family. The wi-fi connection was good and fast, too.

Everything was immaculately clean. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and plush, equivalent to beds at much pricier hotels. We were in the middle of the hotel, near the elevators, and we never noticed any noise from the halls or other rooms.

The hotel is a five-minute drive from the Frederik Meijer sculpture gardens (which you absolutely should visit -- our 12-year-old, who hadn't wanted to go, said it was her favorite part of the trip). Many dining options are just a few minutes' drive further north. The front desk staff steered us to some good choices.

We loved the breakfast buffet. Juices, fruit, a variety of breads, eggs, sausage, cereals, biscuits and gravy, French toast -- you get the idea. If it's on a breakfast menu somewhere, it's probably on the buffet. A word on the coffee: Hotel coffee is usually not that great, but this was. Even better: The coffee is available fresh in urns in the lobby all day, along with chocolate chip cookies.

The staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. The pool and exercise room were clean and well-kept. There's even a small arcade with pinball machines.

I chose the hotel based on the other raves on this site, and I can now say they weren't wrong. Great experience and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Marta S,

When we read comments like these it fills our hearts with pride! Everything you mentioned, I will be sure to pass on to my other employees, especially our breakfast staff who will be so happy you enjoyed their cooking. Please come and visit us again next time your in town, and we appreciate the recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    200
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
369
191
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry County, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A bit nicer than the norm of chain hotels of this price-range. Excellent on-site breakfast. Nice amenities. Very nice indoor pool, spa, and workout room. Courteous staff. Only negative observation is the air-conditioning unit has an incredibly noisy fan. I do not believe that it was a maintenance issue, but rather the design. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jonathan R,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here. I have had maintenance upgrade our air conditioning systems in the rooms since your last stay. Please come and visit us next time your in Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a doble gueen room. The room was comfortable and clean, but you can tell it is getting old. This is especially apparent in the bathroom. 

We enjoyed the pool and appreciated the laundry and complimentary coffee in the lobby. We liked breakfast, but missed more healthy choices like fruits etc. 

The hotel is right off the highway, and a bit from downtown. There is nothing really close by. Ok for a night or two, but I would look for something in town if I was staying longer. 

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Clara H,

We apologize if you felt the room was getting old. Our hotel is only 7 years old and it is very important to us to keep and clean and tidy hotel. It is true there isn't anything in walking distance to do from our location, but in September/ October we will have a new restaurant opening right next door. Hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend. I stay here often for work. The rooms are relaxing, clean and comfortable. The receptionists are remarkably polite and courteous. Rates are economical and well worth it. The only downfall with my stay this time is the restaurant in front is closed but will reopen in August.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Adamr,

Thanks for staying with us and we are glad your stay was nice and relaxing. For your information the restaurant in the parking lot of our hotel is slightly delayed and will probably open in late September or early October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I can never thank the staff enough for saving me in the middle of a Michigan Snowstorm.

I had stayed overnight for a morning conference and thoroughly enjoyed the peacefulness of this fine establishment. In the morning, I drove 12 miles to my conference and when it was over a horrible snowstorm slammed down on the entire city. I tried for over an hour to travel home from the West side to the East side of Michigan where I lived, but accidents, traffic and massive amounts of snow prevented my departure! Frustrated, nervous, chilled and tired,....I found my way back to the welcoming arms of the staff at Country Inn and Suites. They were concerned about my traveling and without having a reservation... they found me a room and even gave me the discounted price I had the night before. Shaking and cold, I went to my room and threw on my swimsuit. The pool was so relaxing, as I watched the huge snowflakes hit the windows outside. Inside the calm of the hotel I was able to de-stress and unwind after the chaos I had endured on the roadways.

This hotel is classy and the front staircase picturesque. The breakfast in the morning made you feel you were in a resort enjoying the smell of fresh coffee. There always seemed to be goodies available near the front desk. The ladies at the front desk are wonderful! Thank you for calming my frayed nerves and saving me from the frigid temperatures and defensive driving our Michigan weather decided to throw at me! This hotel is my haven! I SHALL RETURN, but in much nicer climate!

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone like I was, ask for the King size bed.....the bed was heavenly! I mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kellyp,

We are so glad we could further accommodate you during that unfortunate delay in your travel plans! Your comments about the hotel furnishings and our complimentary breakfast are much appreciate. Come and visit us in the summer some time and I think you will find the weather much more agreeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We took a nice little mini vacation to Grand Rapids and stayed at this hotel. Overall I would say that everything was good. Room. Breakfast buffet had lots of selections and well-attended. Pool was nice - a little larger than the normal hotel pool. Room service was good - room was clean - nothing special but nice. I have only one complaint and that was the wi-fi. It was so slow that I finally took my tablet off wi-fi and used the 4G option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisePatrishkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Denisepatrishkoff,

We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, rooms and swimming pool! On behalf of all our staff I would like to apologize for the internet being slow during your stay. We have spoke to our Internet tech support staff and that problem should be remedied for any future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our son's college graduation. The front desk staff was very friendly, even alerting us to the fact that the hotel was almost full so the breakfast area might be crowded the next morning. The hotel was full of people, but the staff kept up great. Breakfast was plentiful and well stocked. The rooms were very clean, beds very comfortable. I have come to appreciate the consistency of Country Inn & Suites when traveling!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mrscold,

We at the Country Inn and Suites Grand Rapids East strive for consistency and good service and your comments show that we successfully did our jobs! We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
4.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
955 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Address: 3251 Deposit Dr NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-1465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is it like to Be Our Guest at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? It's a family getaway, with all the comforts of home. It's feeling free to borrow a book from our library, sit by the fireplace, or relax in the whirlpool. It's a hot breakfast that is always free and friendly staff that is always ready to help. But most of all, it's feeling like a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids East
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing