We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel - very hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
indianapolis
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good business hotel - very hard to find”
Reviewed September 28, 2007

I stay here quite frequently when visiting clients located near the Grand Rapids airport. The hotel is new and in great shape. The rooms are large and the breakfast in the morning good.

The only downside to this hotel is finding it. The mapping tools available via the internet do not give you correct directions and there is nothing on their website to indicate that this hotel is not at all on 28th and difficult to find. If you can get to Costco/Target - take left at Target and it is down this road. I am hoping that Marriott will put some notice on their website about this difficulty with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ILnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    89
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
62
27
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Thanks to so many at Spring Hill Suites that made our weekend stay for the BARTLETT FAMILY REUNION a HUGE SUCCESS! I had chose your hotel due to the location, design and amenities to accommodate 50 of my relatives who were all VERY SATISFIED. The suites were well decorated, comfortable, VERY clean, and plenty of room to accommodate any need you might have from sleeping to visiting. The meeting room was well used by our family for eating, visiting, playing cards, singing, and a talent show with the back patio/pool adjacent for the kids. The location was a bit tricky to find but the website directions were great. Usually when I see a hotel that has AIRPORT in the name you think of lots of noise, buildings, and no scenery. Not the case for this hotel. This hotel is next to a wooded area which is quiet with great landscaping but conveniently close to shops, restaurants (IE) Costco, Target, and great food at the Longhorn steakhouse. An added convenience for our out of town relatives was the free airport shuttle. The drivers were very courteous and helpful.
My first thanks goes to Stefanie Congdon, manager for organizing our stay. She was always available for any of my questions, etc and responded to me in a very timely manner. Thanks to the front staff (no matter what time) were all very helpful, friendly, and had great smiles. Special thanks to Kathleen for helping me with my computer problems and Kara for the extra towels/toiletries.
Thanks to the breakfast staff we kept them very busy!
Thanks to the housekeepers for keeping our rooms immaculate and fresh!
Because of you ALL my family had a great time which is priceless to me.
Thanks for making me look good!
Next time our family reunion is in Grand Rapids we will definitely be staying here again!

A very grateful Bartlett

  • Liked — friendly and courteous staff with great location and suite size
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OTBART1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmandar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2007

This is a great and CLEAN place to stay while in Grand Rapids, MI. Excellent amenities and very kid friendly.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schmandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

As mentioned by other review this is a very new hotel which still has the "new" smell as you walk around. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the lobby area/dining space and rooms did not dissapoint. The swimming pool and gym were very good as well.

The beds were comfortable and the room layou made very efficient use of the space (see marriot website for a picture).

The breakfast had a good choice. The staff was very helpful when we needed extra plates and silverware. Please note that the rooms have mini-fridge as well as a microwave oven.

It was a bit difficult yo find (behind Target) etc and the signs are kind of small. Just remember to take a left when you see target in front of you and the drive around the left side of target and you will see signs for the hotel.

  • Liked — Newness and modern decor
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

This review is written by a business traveler who frequents Marriott and Hilton-chain hotels. This review is based on a stay in June 2007.

Built in 2006, this hotel is still very new and contemporary in design and style. The pictures seen on [--]describe it all. It meets or exceeds the level of quality one would expect from a relatively new Springhill Suites or Fairfield Inn.

Pros:
- still "new" hotel rooms, amenities.
- close proximity to shopping and all restaurants along 28th Ave.
- curved shower bars.
- wireless internet access (no wired access available).
- complimentary breakfast includes hot entrees also, like eggs, oatmeal, and sausage patties.
- away from he major roads; quiet location.

Cons:
- hotel cannot be seen from 28th Ave; there is no indication that you woudl have to drive through to the back of a large mall / shoppnig complex in order to reach the hotel.
- (enter via the entrance to Target...there si a small lighted sign underneath all other roadside mall signs.)

I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Liked — "Newness" of hotel; proximity to airport, shoppnig, and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Difficulty to find it off of 28th Avenue
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada_Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
125 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast

Property: SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
Address: 5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-7704 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#18 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing