We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood and Attentive Service”
Review of Leo's

Leo's
Ranked #3 of 932 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Attentive Service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food was excellent as was the service. the seafood is very fresh and the variety is excellent. If you are an oyster lover, they have an excellent selection of oysters. The atmosphere is on the formal side. I had lunch and the noise level was fairly low. This is one of the top restaurants in Grand Rapids and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    124
    40
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Very salty food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had excellent service by our waitress but the food was so salty that 2 of the 4 of us didn't eat our meals. Got the bill and was expected to pay for it also. At the end f the meal was told by the server she hoped we would come back. When I told her I would not be back all of a sudden the manager was there offering to deduct the price of my meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"outstanding service and best sea food in town!"”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The atmospher made me feel like we were in a big city.

The food was delicous. Great variety to choose from. The escargo & the calamari both are to die for. My husbands lobster was cook perfect & the butter sauce was good & hot. Shrimp scampi was excellent cooked perfect.

Waitress was so pleasant and not pushy, they didn't make us feel rushed. It was a perfect date night!

We will be back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkelly1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointing visit”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Leo's has been a favorite of mine for a while, but the last visit was disapointing. Service was sub par - had made a reservation for a specifc seat, they made us wait 15 mins past our time and then gave us a seat next to the entrance; the server spilled almost one third of my martini; we had to request water at least five times throughout the meal. The soup came out luke warm. I had the Mahi Mahi and it came out cold & dry - mentioned it to the server and was not even offered a replacement. It was not a visit that would want to make you go back. BTW there is no place on their website to give any feedback.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vodkatonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unidentified
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood is always outstanding here!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoy the consistent quality of seafood preparation at Leo's. My meal of crab-topped salmon was outstanding, and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the chef's special of the day: crab, lobster, and shrimp in a sherry garlic butter sauce. When our adult children come back to visit, Leo's is the place they choose for holiday celebrations. We're never dissatisfied.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandmother73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Leo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing