We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch didn't disappoint!”
Review of Cygnus27

Cygnus27
Reserve with OpenTable
Cygnus27 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 977 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pearl
Description: Set 27 stories up in the heart of Downtown Grand Rapids, Cygnus27 delivers a Latin-inspired menu and sophisticated cocktail lounge with expansive panoramic views of the Grand River and surrounding cityscape. The exclusive cocktail menu is based on classic inspirations. The light fare options include a variety of small and sharable plates - perfect for an after-work or evening bite. With its multi-level dining spaces and modern furnishings, Cygnus27 is truly the destination restaurant and cocktail lounge in West Michigan. A fresh, unique, and authentic menu draws on the Chef Tim Moreno's Latin American heritage and has made-from-scratch dishes that have earned the dining room the AAA Four-Diamond mark of distinction. Also available is our popular Sunday brunch mid-September through mid-May. Interested in booking a private space on the 28th floor? With floor to ceiling city and river views, you'll host the dinner your friends or colleagues won't soon forget!
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It had been years since we had been to Cygnus for the Sunday brunch---had some friends who were in town for Art Prize and we decided to give it a try again---they changed the format and it was a good change---there was a menu of about 12 small hot plate choices so we all tried something different. There was the cold buffet choices and the desert buffet still. The presentation and the food quality was great---our waitress seemed annoyed at us for we did sit and talk and talk but we made sure she was tipped appropriately since we took up the table time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichiganderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Cygnus27, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for visiting us for Sunday brunch during ArtPrize! I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate our new small plate format along with the buffet items. We hope to see you again for brunch or a dinnertime visit very soon! Thank you for reviewing your experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

What an experience! We decided to splurge on this restaurant, although it wasn't as expensive as I had thought (food prices slightly high but they get you on the wine).

The view from the 27th floor on a clear evening was to die for! We could see up and down the Grand River - and seeing the colorful banners from ArtPrize made it even more lovely.
The ambience, service and great food made the experience well worth the money.
We had a bottle of Pinot Noir from Stellenbosch, South Africa ($46) which was expertly decanted, 2 salads with honey glazed grilled figs, frisee, gorgonzola cheese and chopped walnuts ($10 each), one entree of shrimp and scallop brochette with veggies ($29) and one entree of salmon in a misoyaki sauce with sobu noodles, red peppers and shiitake mushrooms ($30), shared one dessert of gelato (olive oil and caramel bacon flavor and capucchino with almond syrup flavor ($4.50)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LLiv-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Cygnus27, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for dining with us and for sharing this detailed information about your experience for prospective and future guests! I am glad you enjoyed your meal - you made lovely selections - as well as the view of the Grand River during ArtPrize. We hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely brunch here with a great view of the city, river and bridges. $15 for kids and $38 for adults. Great variety of cold items including sushi, to-die-for chicken and lobster salads, cut fruits and berries each in their own bowl, yummy selection of fresh pastries, shrimp, smoked salmon, lox, greens and veggies for tossed salads with homemade dressings, a stir fry bar and full selection of small portion desserts so we didn't feel guilty taking a few or lobbing pieces off beautifully sliced cakes and pies. Hot entree items were wisely brought to the table freshly cooked and family style so we could taste all the choices and then order more of whatever we liked. This was a great idea - food wasn't in steam servers or left sitting, but instead came to us fresh and piping hot. Nor did we waste a ton of food, as often is the case. Providing a taste of everything seemed much more efficient for the diner as well as the restaurant. No more piling heaps of food on your plate, because with the exception of made-to-order omelet yes and stir fry it was delivered to the table. The price was a little steep but is by far the nicest brunch I've been to in a long time. Service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pogeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Cygnus27, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us for Sunday brunch and for writing this wonderful review of your dining experience! We are glad you took note of and appreciated our small plate format - we agree that this ensures a fresh, hot dish for you to enjoy. I am also glad you enjoyed the service, as we are fortunate to have a fantastic wait staff. We hope to see you again very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our waitress was very unpleasant and very inattentive. If she had smiled I might have overlooked her attitude and demeanor. Perhaps part of the problem was we were a large party and -Artprize also had a large party going on at the same time. The filet was overcooked, flavorless, and not tender. Had to ask repeatedly for napkins and cutlery. We waited a long time for dessert and longer for team or coffee. Great view made up for the mediocre dining experience

Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Cygnus27, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for dining with us and for sharing this important feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the unacceptable service and food you received. If you would be so kind, I would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you directly to gather more information about your experience. Please email me at csmith@amwaygrand.com so that I can connect with you. Once again, we appreciate your business and you taking the time to review your experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food was good, a little pricey. Selection of breads brought was great. The chocolate sphere dessert is worth eating dinner there! We travel alot and eat at many different restaurants and have never had anything like it. Great presentation and tasty!

Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cygnus27 also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Cygnus27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing