We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed June 24, 2010

OK,so I called to make reservations and was quoted a price so I made my reservations. After our stay was over I went to check out and found I was billed waynover what I was told. The lady working at the front desk was less then helpful! I refused to leave until it was fixed so after she talked to her manager it was taken care of. I called after we arrived home and spoke to the manager and was told the price I was quoted did not include wrist bands for the pool?In the end she apologized and said she would honor that rate at any time if we were to return......So I called last week because we were going to be in town for business once again and I was told that they would not honor the price I was once again quoted but they would some other time?what? If your looking to stay here its not worth anything over 100$ a night!Trust me!And to have to pay to use the waterpark that includes 2 water slides is a rip off!!!!Not to mention they rent it out for parties on weekends and it is so packed you cant even enjoy it!Save yor money and stay at a different hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lexie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 177 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2010

Only received 2 wristbands for waterpark, I had to purchase a third for $10 (which we only spent a hour, because it was so packed). We were on the 4th floor where people where slamming doors and kids screaming in the hallways after 11:30pm. The floor periodically vibrated as though there were an earthquake. I was very disappointed for the price we paid and would not go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ma2lilgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel is a nice hotel although i recommend you to NEVER go on spring break, yes i figured it would be busy, but this place you couldn't even find a seat at breakfast, swimming was unsatisfactory, this place is meant for little children, for teenagers and adults...that is a no.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverzgoats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Found bedbugs in 2nd-floor room! Really nothing else to be said.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank busines3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiegr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express South is a brand name leader in it's market. Please be assured that the hotel takes it's pest control program very seriously!

We utilizes a nationally known pest control company to manage our ongoing monthly maintenance program in all guest rooms and common use areas of the hotel.

While we pro-actively take every precaution necessary to prevent pest issues, we cannot prevent isolated instances where something may unknowingly be brought into the hotel. If this does occur the problem is immediately eliminated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

After reading all the negative reviews, I was expecting the worse, however I had a great experience. I booked the room using Priority Club's Point Breaks program. Check in was smooth and friendly. The room I was given was clean, large, and very nicely furnished with king bed, desk, chair/ottoman, fridge, microwave & coffeepot. The indoor waterpark is small but it was also a lot of fun. I went down the waterslide about 30 times and loved it. The chlorine can be a bit harsh on your skin after a couple hours so be careful. Breakfast was not quite as good as some other HIX I have been at, but still decent for a free hot breakfast. Overall, I can't figure out how this hotel ranks so low.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodnwine2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Now, let me first put out there that I redeemed my Priority Rewards points and got 2 rooms for two nights for free. So my level of disappointment has to be great to rate this stay horrible. We stayed on a Fri & Sat night.

The hotel is actually located in Cutlerville, about 6-8 miles from Downtown Grand Rapids. The hotel is right off the highway and you can access Downtown within 5-8 minutes.

With that being said, we were assigned two "King Bed Leisure" Rooms. These rooms consisted of a King bed a mini fridge, a tube TV (with horrible recpetion - but had AV jacks for portable DVD players), and a small desk area. The room states that it is a room for 4, but there was NO PULL OUT COUCH. I guess they expected all 4 of us to sleep in the same bed. Which we attempted with horrible results for my back.

Overall,the room was a little small for a family of 4 with luggage. But like I said, I go the room for free, so I aint complaining too much.

Accompaning me (age 37) was my wife, 5 year old daughter, and 3 year old son. The other party we brought with us also included 4 people of about the same age. The rooms only came with 2 water park passes. You needed the passes to (I think) enter the entire pool area. However, no one ever checked until there was in injury to a child and the mgr. was on site. Other than that, the 17-19 year old "life gaurds" could really give a crap if you had them or not. Additional passes could be purchased for $20.00 each.

The water park was small, if comparing to Great Wolf Lodge, but for the age group of our kids it was perfect. The pool was 3.5 feet deep, allowing my daughter to swim freely and rest by standing. The pool was not huge, and if 15 or so people were in it, it got a little crazy. They had a hot tub which worked as anticipated. Kids were not allowed in the hot tub and the "life gaurds" enforced that rule. There also was a mini-lazy river. This was a "whirlpool" that you basically floated around in a circle. The kids loved it and parents did as well. The big slide was great!! You had to be 48'' tall to ride it and they did enforce that as well. Only single riders, no sitting a child below 48'' on your lap.

The air temp in the pool/park area was a little chilly. My 3 year old was chattering due to the low air temp. The kids play area with the wading pool was nice and it had two little slides. It also had some levers and wheels to turn to turn on/off the water.

Peak hours at the pool were around 11-12 noon. The pool opened up @ 9 am and the slides @ 10am. If you are an early riser, I suggest to hit the pool as soon as it opens to avoid the masses. The pool seemed to thin out around lunch time until 3-4pm when the new hotel guest were just starting to check in.

Overall the pool/park area was great for our 5 and 3 year olds. The only thing I would complain about was the air temp, which was a little cold. I would not suggest taking children in the 12-17 year age as they would get bored fast. Plus during peak hours, the pool gets a little full.

Breakfast consisted of waffles, yogurt, milk, cereal, scrambled eggs, bagels...etc. It was great to start the day with a free breakfast.

The staff were great to deal with, and the fish tank in the lobby was a favorite for the kids. Elevators were operating, and the grounds and hotel overall was very clean and we had no issues with room cleanliness.

The fitness center consisted of 2 treadmills and a rowing machine.

Over all, I would say it was a great stay for us (it was free), but for $100.00 + a room I would rather stay at Great Wolf Lodge as 4 passes are included with the room and there is alot more to do. But for a night or a quick weekend getaway with the kids it is fine.

I just checked the room rates and they run between $108.00 and $126.00 that is TOO MUCH for this hotel, once you factor in that you have to buy $20.00 additional park passes for EACH DAY you stay. If you can get it for $75-$85, I'd say ok...but this $100.00+ business is unacceptable. If you can negotiate free park passes for your entire family..good. If not...go to Great Wolf Lodge...you will get more for yor money.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank microbrew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I had a good time until I got home and realized the hotel staff had chemicals in pool to strong ,and my 4yr old ,7yr old, and self had burns on skin. Management said they were going to refund all of my money but instead over charged me. I then called and tried to have a civilized conversation with the head manager ,he called me a liar and claimed he never said that he was going to refund my money. I am currently dealing with the corporate office ,it is out of principle now not finacial gain !!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#15 of 48 in Grand Rapids
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
#40 of 48 in Grand Rapids
1,552 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing