We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Probably an okay value. Lots of kids running around, staff pretty unhelpful (I had a burned out light bulb and had to call 4 times to get one that worked!) but the rooms were clean, the place fairly quiet.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    21
    13
    26
See reviews for
103
12
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Overall, we enjoyed the visit to the hotel and water park. It was quite loud and overwhelming due to the PACKED hotel and pool area and children yelling/running in the hallways at all hours of the day/night.
Hotel- pretty good. There is not an arcade, despite the web site advertisement and hallway placards in the hotel. That was disappointing. We thought the breakfast was fine, our room was clean, we were pleased to find a mini frig in the room.
Water park- not bad. The water was on the cold side and so was the air. Following small children around from play area to pool was uncomfortable because it felt so cold. The acoustics in that room are terrible-- the noise was deafening and made it virtually impossible to bring our baby into the area and uncomfortable for the grandparents with hearing aids as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunGirlRun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triplady1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

The overall appearance of this hotel is deceiving. Looks decent at first glance, but the staff IS NOT. They are rude and unfriendly! We, both as a large group and an individual family, stay at hotels frequently and this is the WORST experience ever. They are not accommodating to large groups AT ALL! They do not have any open areas for a large group to just hang out. They badger your every move. It is very suffocating!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triplady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

The service here is SO BAD that I am writing this review from my hotel room. We came here with a group and have been treated very bad. They don't allow anyone to gather in any of the public areas. They are rude to children and adults alike. We got a group rate to stay here and it is still way too much. GO TO GREAT WOLF LODGE, YOU WON'T REGRET IT. You pay for the waterpark here and the hours for the water slide are terrible. Our group of parents range from mid 30's to 40's. We were treated like children. I have stayed in most of the hotels in Grand Rapids, THERE IS MUCH BETTER THAN THIS!! DON' STAY HERE!!!

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank mlharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I had a good experience. Staff was friendly, room was clean, breakfast was o.k., not great, but not bad, and it's "free". Not there for the food anyway.

Pool was great. My six year old loved the slide/larger pool and four year old spent a lot of time in the kiddie pool with smaller slides and fountains. You must be 48" tall to ride the big slide, or get approval from a lifeguard after a swimming test. Water was a nice temp. Nice to have lifeguards (two) on duty. I also like that they close the pool for a half-hour a few times a day to check ph levels, treat water and clean up as needed. Lots of kids in pool, so I like the water checked often. Also, gives excuse to take kids out of the pool for a break/meal. Find out pool hours before you get suits on, avoid the disappointment of arriving right after it closes for testing.

Check out is 11 a.m., a little early in my opinion, and only an hour after pool opens, but we were allowed to use pool until 1 p.m. So, I felt like we got fair use of the pool.

I think the hotel should give four bracelets with room rental instead of three...family of four is pretty common, would have to pay 20 bucks for an extra bracelet. Based on my experience, I would recommend this place for a weekend getaway. Important to note that the pool is closed during the week.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keitthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The Good:

Overall we had a very good time despite a few glitches. The slide was so much fun! It's a full two stories tall and is basically two figure eights. Going down it several times gets your blood pumping! The kiddie pool was warm. The lifeguards were very attentive. I was very impressed with the aquatic-themed artwork on the walls all around the waterpark; it was very lifelike and beautiful.

We got a double queen room which was very clean. The beds were very comfortable, as was the chair with ottoman. I was impressed with the fridge, coffee pot, and microwave right in the room with a beautiful granite countertop. The vanity in the bathroom was granite as well. The shower head was adjustable with different sprays. There was even a retractable clothesline over the tub!

Since there is no restaurant in the hotel, they provided a list of restaurants in the area that deliver, and the pizza we got was fabulous, that is if you like TONS of cheese! (I believe the place we ordered from was at the top of the list!)

The Glitches:

I used all of the kleenex in the bathroom and placed the empty box on top of the vanity thinking that the housekeeper would see it and replace it, but she didn't so I had to go down to the front desk to get another one.

There were no disposable plates in our room on which to load our fabulous pizza, so I went to the front desk for those as well.

Some of the water sprays in the kiddie area were a bit too powerful for little children and the hot tub was a bit too hot even for some adults (No one under the age of 18 is allowed in the hot tub.)

Despite that they close the waterpark periodically to check chemical levels, some of the surfaces on the equipment could really use a thorough scrubbing.

The lady who checked us in neglected to give us our waterpark wrist bands so we were sent back to the front for those and she also neglected to inform us that we would need different color wristbands in order to be admitted into the waterpark for our second day's stay. Had we known that we would have taken them off after the first night because they were uncomfortable.

According to the hotel's Website (which I had reviewed just two weeks before our stay but can't seem to access at this time) a person was required to be registered as a guest in a room in order to be granted access to the waterpark, and a hotel guest could add another person to the room reservation at a cost of $10 per person per night and that other person would receive a wristband for admittance to the waterpark. However, that policy had changed and the Website had not been updated (perhaps that's why the Website is offline.) When our friend's daughter wanted to join us for an evening of fun at the waterpark, we were told that it would cost $20, but I told the manager that the Website said $10, so we got her in for $10. Now they also offer day-passes to the waterpark only, for $20.

My husband and our friend wanted a place to sit down and visit, so rather than go to our room they decided to go to the dining room where the Continental Breakfast is served, and there is a couch, an HD TV, and a fake fireplace. However, when they walked in and sat down, they were greeted by disgruntled stares coming from the other people who were in the room. Apparently that 'public' room was being used to hold a 'private' meeting, despite the fact that just down the hall there are rooms that are designated as "Meeting Rooms."

Speaking of the Continental Breakfast, I was less than impressed with the quality of the food served. The toaster burned my toast and the eggs and sausage were bland and dry. The best tasting item on the menu was the biscuits and gravy.

  • Liked — The waterslide
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

The Waterpark is only open on the weekend. Our kids were quite disappoints

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank quiverful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#15 of 48 in Grand Rapids
142 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#36 of 48 in Grand Rapids
50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Property: Holiday Inn Express South
Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing