We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great staff and facility”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay with grandkids. The small waterpark has a 3 story slide and a kiddie pool area with slides & other water features for younger children, and all the grandkids (& adults) had a great time. We were concerned when making reservations that there wouldn't be enough pool area for us to enjoy since the slide goes into the regular pool, but there was plenty of room to swim. And, there was a hot tub (for 16yr. & older) & a small whirlpool (the water actually swirled like a whirlpool). When making reservations, be sure to check the pool/slide area schedule as it does vary.
Our room was located on the first floor so it was close to the waterpark/pool area. There was noise overhead from children running the halls, but when we brought that to management's attention they addressed it. We had a small plumbing problem that was taken care of immediately. Being close to the lobby was great since coffee was available all day.
The facility was very clean and nicely decorated, and the staff was attentive. They made sure the grandkids had ice cream shortly after checking in, and the owner or manager made a point of talking with us several times, and even helped keep the complimentary breakfast supplied along with two other employees. The breakfast was very tasty with lots of options, and the area was big enough that we didn't have to fight for a table like we have in some hotels.
This hotel is a great value, since we stayed for the same price as other hotels we checked on without a waterpark. It is easily accessible off US131 & M6 on the south end of Grand Rapids. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which was really nice as the waterpark/pool area was close, but no roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationSue49657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    21
    13
    26
See reviews for
101
12
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BEDFORD
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a great place to stay! The hotel staff was the best. The hotel was clean and the waterpark was enjoyed by the kids. I would stay here again if I had to! The only down side was the lifeguards in the waterpark were more interested in texting than watching the pool.

Room Tip: Stayed in 121 - was next to the pool and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRAD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The kids enjoyed our stay here at Holiday Inn - they loved the pool and the waterslide. Personally, I loved the beds - I don't think I've ever slept on a more comfortable bed in a hotel before! The hotel was a little noisy at times but that was to be expected at a hotel that caters to families and children. Customer service at time of check in was great. However, after we got home we saw extra charges on our credit card for additional wristbands purchased for the pool area - wristbands that we had paid cash for! We called the hotel to ask them to remove the extra charges - they said they would look into it but the charges were never removed. So a word of caution - if you need to purchase extra wristbands for the pool area, GET A RECEIPT!!! so you can prove your case after the fact should you find yourself double-charged like we did. Also had some trouble booking online as their website was experiences technical difficulties. This resulted in having an advanced purchase room canceled on us (not by us, but by the hotel/website), which required us to rebook another room, which resulted in us paying for two rooms. Additional charges which, again, were not credited back to us. So overall, this stay cost us an extra $175 that we are not getting reimbursed for. From now on, we will be booking our rooms via telephone and getting receipts for everything that we purchase at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puff924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Spring M,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a feedback. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we
pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Upon check in the front desk personnel explained that the property was overbooked and that there were no rooms available. They suggested that our family of four share a king bed at an adjoining property and if we weren't interested that it was too bad. Upon seeing other reviews, I understand that this might have been a good thing. We did eventually find other accommodations on our own about 20 minutes away. We will not be planning to use the Holiday Inn group in the future

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Kathy W,

Thank you for your business and your review. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service and regret that we were not able to accommodate your group during your visit. I am truly sorry for the poor experience and service issues you had.

We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We left our room from 8am through 7pm and discovered that upon our return the room was never touched for cleaning. I went down to the front desk and they apologized and indicated it was a result of their computer system. They offered to have the desk manager clean the room and I told them no need. They offered to credit my 15,000 points back to the account for the nights stay .... I have never seen any these yet -- almost 3 months later..... The national customer service desk is of little help and very untimely in responding to such issues. This was not a good stay at this property.... so much for the Platinum status..... It appears worthless...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Joseph F,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Grand Rapids South, MI. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed here approximately three times with our children. Every time we have been there we have had an great time. However, our last stay was exceptional! Upon arriving, a male at the front desk (maybe the owner?) offered our three children ice cream sandwiches. Of course, they were thrilled! Our room was clean, the customer service is wonderful and the water park is perfect for the ages of our children - 7, 4 and 1. The highlight of our stay was a complimentary magic show on Saturday evening. The magician was entertaining and our kids LOVED it! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Disgusted with what looks like a messy period on the pull out mattress. Check in was good, the water park was good, the room seemed clean, until bed time the there was the red stains on the pull out mattress.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ras123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ras123456,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding check in experience and the waterpark.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the mattress which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
#40 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
140 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#36 of 49 in Grand Rapids
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Property: Holiday Inn Express South
Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing