We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Minster, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading the not so great reviews - we took our chances with this hotel. My husband and I took our two children (ages 5 and 2) for an overnight at this hotel. The hotel staff allowed us to have an early check-in (which was great for getting everyone ready for the pool). The waterpark area was absolutely perfect for our kids. They were at the right ages to enjoy the slides and such. I do think any families with older children wouldn't find it as appealing. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating. I am very picky on hotel cleanliness, and after I did my typical room check (before we bring anything in) I was very pleased. The room was in great shape! (My only complaint is that our room seemed to be located under the stair well and we didn't appreciate the other guests (no doubt kids) running up and down all night which made it tough for sleeping). The pool area was very clean as well and contrary to other reviews, the pools weren't cold. We had to be in the Grand Rapids area for a family event, and due to the start of our event, we needed to have a late check-out. The hotel once again came through and allowed us to extend our stay just long enough that we didn't have to try to find another way to kill time!
Thank you to the staff - it was a great trip!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor - away from the stairwell. This is not the hotels fault for loud n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACA_449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    54
    22
    13
    26
See reviews for
105
12
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Area is kind of odd, hotel is down what looks to be a industrial service drive, our hotel window view was a freeway. Room was clean. Service was good, the waterpark was extra small. Very cramped pool area, lifetime gym would put this "waterpark" to shame. Do not go just for the waterpark unless you have kids that are 10 and under who basically do not know any better, I brought my 12 yo girl and was a bit embarresed by how small the pool area was in person, photos make the pool area look much bigger. Other then that its ok, the room had a flat screen tv which was kind of cool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Kanozig,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and good service and the flat screen television

However, We’re sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our Water park. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The price was not cheap, but we decided to stay there based on previous experiences on different cities with Holiday Inn. This hotel is outside Grand Rapids, staff are very friendly however cleanliness is very poor. Room had a smell like wet. The water park is very small not for adults; the water was very dirty. They have tons of rules for the water park but nobody follows them. And the most disgusting thing I saw was a guy blowing his nose with the hotel towels. COME ON PEOPLE, towels are not yours but respect other people's properties. In addition, pets are not allowed however someone on the floor I was staying somebody managed to get a dog in the hotel. Overal, not recommended! Get your money worth somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honesttravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Honesttravele,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff,

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on cleanliness on both the room and the water park, not to mention the pet on your floor. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive after the number of bad reviews on this site but I'm starting to think that they were just fakes from rival hotels. The service was top notch, the room very clean and the waterpark was a blast. Two lifeguards on duty, little kids area, lap pool, very large waterslide, hot tub, and whirlpool. We had to drag the kids away. There is nothing to stop me from coming back and recommending the hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel, Holiday Inn Express South. It was just me and my 9 year old daughter. The King room with jacuzzi was nice - not HUGE - but nice. Bed was comfortable -but needed 2 more pillows - a King size bed should have 6 pillows.
The pool area is nice- there is not a place for swimming any laps - but that is okay with us. My daughter enjoyed the calm water slide and the small kiddie area was nice.
I LOVE the idea that NO ONE under 16 is allowed in the hot tub -- not even a foot!!!
And the lifeguard monitors that -- makes it nice!
I wish they would monitor the little kiddie area more often. There were some bigger kids trying to walk UP the slide -- and then they slid down the middle portion of the slides. Not only is it rude for the other people that follow the 'common sense" rule of slides are for DOWN ONLY - but it could cause for an accident and possible injury.

One area that I did report to the front desk - is that we saw a few ants in a couple ares of our room -- and also one insect/bug. The staff indicated that with the hotel a WATERPARK there may be an increase in bugs. Seemed like an odd response --- I was expecting "Thanks for bringing it to our attention, I will pass it along to the management"

Room Tip: Room #124 closest to the pool -makes it nice with families -- but you also get the loud people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Run, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Room was average, Breakfast buffet was nothing to write home about. The Big Dip Waterpark was a JOKE!! Lifeguard had to keep turning the water on for the big slide to even run! Only 1 lifeguard on duty and this was SPRING BREAK! Kids were out of control in the pool area, doing flips in the pool, and the so called lifeguard just sat there and watched them do it! The lifeguard was more concerned with keeping the under 16 children out of the hot tub. My 6 yr old takes a hotter bath than the temperature of the hot tub! We will never stay at this hotel again! Terrible experience, would much rather spend a little more $ and go to Splash Universe in Dundee! And if you do choose to stay here, be sure to book your room in advance around special holidays, as they rates do go up drastically!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam48415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Pam48415,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had a great time! Stayed over one night for the kids during spring break. Got to the hotel an hour early and they let us check in early. That was awesome! Our room was clean and roomy for the four of us. We have older kids (16 and 15 yrs) and they enjoyed the water park and the hot tub. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, but I would suggest getting there early, between 7am and 8am. By 8am it was very busy and filled with guests. Overall, our stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringBreak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#14 of 48 in Grand Rapids
144 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
151 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
#40 of 48 in Grand Rapids
1,550 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Property: Holiday Inn Express South
Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing