We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce place for young families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel, Holiday Inn Express South. It was just me and my 9 year old daughter. The King room with jacuzzi was nice - not HUGE - but nice. Bed was comfortable -but needed 2 more pillows - a King size bed should have 6 pillows.
The pool area is nice- there is not a place for swimming any laps - but that is okay with us. My daughter enjoyed the calm water slide and the small kiddie area was nice.
I LOVE the idea that NO ONE under 16 is allowed in the hot tub -- not even a foot!!!
And the lifeguard monitors that -- makes it nice!
I wish they would monitor the little kiddie area more often. There were some bigger kids trying to walk UP the slide -- and then they slid down the middle portion of the slides. Not only is it rude for the other people that follow the 'common sense" rule of slides are for DOWN ONLY - but it could cause for an accident and possible injury.

One area that I did report to the front desk - is that we saw a few ants in a couple ares of our room -- and also one insect/bug. The staff indicated that with the hotel a WATERPARK there may be an increase in bugs. Seemed like an odd response --- I was expecting "Thanks for bringing it to our attention, I will pass it along to the management"

Room Tip: Room #124 closest to the pool -makes it nice with families -- but you also get the loud people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 181 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Room was average, Breakfast buffet was nothing to write home about. The Big Dip Waterpark was a JOKE!! Lifeguard had to keep turning the water on for the big slide to even run! Only 1 lifeguard on duty and this was SPRING BREAK! Kids were out of control in the pool area, doing flips in the pool, and the so called lifeguard just sat there and watched them do it! The lifeguard was more concerned with keeping the under 16 children out of the hot tub. My 6 yr old takes a hotter bath than the temperature of the hot tub! We will never stay at this hotel again! Terrible experience, would much rather spend a little more $ and go to Splash Universe in Dundee! And if you do choose to stay here, be sure to book your room in advance around special holidays, as they rates do go up drastically!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam48415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Pam48415,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had a great time! Stayed over one night for the kids during spring break. Got to the hotel an hour early and they let us check in early. That was awesome! Our room was clean and roomy for the four of us. We have older kids (16 and 15 yrs) and they enjoyed the water park and the hot tub. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, but I would suggest getting there early, between 7am and 8am. By 8am it was very busy and filled with guests. Overall, our stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringBreak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This goes down as the worst hotel property I have ever been to in my entire life! They told us that check in would be at 4pm and we couldn't get into out room until 5:25pm because of the long line! When we finally got into our room it was dirty and there was trash all over the place! We had to go back downstairs and they assigned us a new room, we didn't get into our final room until 5:45pm. We went to the waterpark and staff was absolutely horrible. The lifeguards were not paying attention to anything and one of them was falling asleep. I asked the lifeguard a question and he just kind of ignored me and walked away, he had long brown hair. Then when we finally went to our room to go to sleep, there were kids running around until 1am! We were not able to fall asleep and we had to wake up early to leave for our trip. We called customer service several times, but they never resolved the issue. One of the times the kids even banged on our door and ran away!! This woke my wife up! After a really long night, we woke up in the morning only to find a hair in my biscuits and gravy. It was a long gray piece of hair. I literally almost threw up. I couldn't take it anymore and I asked to speak to a manager. After patiently waiting I finally got a chance to speak to the owner, he was Indian and I could barley understand what he was trying to say to me. He did not do anything either to make my stay more accommodating, so I just took my kids and wife, we packed our bags and left. We're never coming back to this place, and we're telling all of our friends to never step foot on there. RUN AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not go here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

John A,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you're coming to Western Michigan, Grand Rapids or Kalamazoo area, this is the place to be, especially if you are traveling with Children. Starting with the built-in waterpark, you are near the John Ball Park & Zoo, Meijer Botanical Gardens, and a short drive down to Kalamazoo to the Air Zoo, as well as all the art museums, and the city-scene downtown Grand Rapids! The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. The rooms on the third floor are 'loft suites' with a second-floor bedroom and rough-hewn wood bunk-beds with it's own bathroom, as well as a master bedroom, and living room area, with a fold-out couch. The only downside I found is they have very limited parking.

Room Tip: If you have kids, try to ask for a loft suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We selected this hotel thinking it was a good place for families, given that there is a water park at the hotel. The water park is small, good for families with small kids during a slow, non-crowded stay. We stayed in a standard room - a king size bed with a sleeper sofa. One disappointment because it was not communicated on the website: they would not provide a rollaway cot because it would violate fire codes. Another item not communicated ahead of time: a $100 security deposit is required at checkin. We stayed over the New Year weekend, and it turned out that there were special activities on NYE for the family to celebrate. However, I believe that the staff was overwhelmed with the large number of people during the holiday weekend. This showed up in a number of ways: no early check-ins, our keycard expired at the end of the 1st and 2nd days without explanation, did not clean the room unless I called to request a cleaning, the same hot breakfast was served all 5 days of our stay. The hotel is probably fine for a one- or two-night stay during a slow period. But we will not likely return since we stay for many nights when we are in town visiting family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaMay0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed one night with our 3 boys. Ages 10y, 13y, 16y. The hotel needed some cleaning. It looks newer from the outside but the inside is pretty worn. The staff was very nice and helpful. No complaints there. Our room was a double. Standard room. Standard size. The bathroom had a sour smell but wa clean. The room wad clean too. A little outdated but we didn't feel like it was dirty. The Hallway was very noisey with kids running through the hallway, but that is a parent problem, not a hotel problem. The pool/slide area is small. The kids liked it though, but were bored pretty fast. I think it's better for smaller kids. They have a large eating area upstairs from the pool. Good for parties. I not it was worth the price we paid. Won't stay there again unless t price comes down.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
6.6 mi away
Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#20 of 49 in Grand Rapids
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $117 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing