We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The area, the food, the price . . . wow!”

Osta's Lebanese Cuisine
Ranked #163 of 1,059 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $1 - $23
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: Osta’s Lebanese Cuisine began in Beirut, Lebanon in 1950 by Master Chef, John Aouad, our beloved father and mentor. We have carried on his recipes and traditions here in the United States. Osta’s Lebanese Cuisine offers exquisite flavor using fresh greens, hearty grains and aromatic spices all imported from Lebanon to create the highest quality grilled meats and flavorful vegetarian cuisine. When you dine with Osta’s, you dine with family. Gaslight Village has been our home since 1993. Lebanese food is both nutritious and delicious. Compliment your meal with our imported Lebanese beer or wine. Whatever your preference, it’s guaranteed you will enjoy your dining experience at Osta’s…”Lebanese style.”
Restaurant details
Description: Osta’s Lebanese Cuisine began in Beirut, Lebanon in 1950 by Master Chef, John Aouad, our beloved father and mentor. We have carried on his recipes and traditions here in the United States. Osta’s Lebanese Cuisine offers exquisite flavor using fresh greens, hearty grains and aromatic spices all imported from Lebanon to create the highest quality grilled meats and flavorful vegetarian cuisine. When you dine with Osta’s, you dine with family. Gaslight Village has been our home since 1993. Lebanese food is both nutritious and delicious. Compliment your meal with our imported Lebanese beer or wine. Whatever your preference, it’s guaranteed you will enjoy your dining experience at Osta’s…”Lebanese style.”
Reviewed November 21, 2017

A friend of mine had suggested we visit here since I was seeking more Lebanese/Mediterranean Restaurants in GR.

My friend and I headed out on a Thursday night to Osta's - once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to see that the restaurant was located at a small and quaint center. The area was clean, very admirable. You do need to find parking and possibly walk to the restaurant but it's nothing more than a 2 minute walk.

As you walk up to the restaurant, you can definitely note the aroma of their exquisite dishes. You will also notice the restaurant is very small. I would say no more than 10 tables. So it's not a place where you would want to go with a big group of people! It's more of a quiet, couples date night or one one meetings.

The service was very wonderful - our waitress was very kind, polite and patient! She kindly answered our questions and tended to us well.

My friend I split a plate of Chicken and Shawarma and shared their delicious garlic spread! Let me just say - their seasoning was extraordinary! We paid a total of $30

I honestly have nothing but great things to say about Osta's and will definitely return soon!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iliana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Owner at Osta's Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

We are so pleased you loved your dining experience at Osta's. We pride ourselves on quality and kindness to all who enter our humble dining room. Please keep in mind if your group exceeds 4, you may call ahead. We will kindly block a couple tables to accommodate you. Don't let our size scare you away. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2017

We ate at Ostas while on vacation in Grand Rapids. It was a great meal, everything was fresh and tasty, the lamb, chicken and beef shawarma was fabulous, and the Lebanese salad was terrific as well. We wanted to go back, but ran out of time, next time for sure!!!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank BobMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Owner at Osta's Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thank you BobMichigan for your positive, honest review of our restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything you ate, and we look forward to serving you again when you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

We had the fattoush salad, lots of twart (twang and tart) flavor. The flat, pre prepackaged pita let it down. It quickly soaked up the overly dressed salad. The pita and garlic sauce. Nice and creamy....Flavor of garlic was there, due no doubt from the real minced garlic in what felt and tasted like a mayonnaise based sauce. Introduction to Mediterranean cuisine as flavors a kinda there but not quite executed as we anticipated. Look forward to trying something else on the menu next time. Might have been an off night. Will give them another try. A main dish. Then I can update review. Server Deanna was nice.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank justadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Owner at Osta's Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

We are sorry that you were not pleased with our Fatoush salad it is one of the most popular items on our menu. I assure you the pita is not prepackaged. We toast the pita right in our own oven. It is made from our sandwich pitas that are delivered to our business fresh every week. Yes, the Fatoush salad is tart, and if tart isn't your thing, you may want to try our house Lebanese salad next time. Regarding the garlic sauce, it is made 100% from scratch with fresh garlic and is not mayo based in any way, shape, or form. We hope you will return for another visit and we hope we can earn a 5 star rating from you at that time. We been serving our cuisine in Gaslight Village for the past 24 years. We are very authentic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

The restaurant offers Mediterranean foods (Halal meet), the quality of food is good and the place is small but not so bad.
prices are expensive regarding to food portions.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Ahmad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Owner at Osta's Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thank you for your 4 star rating of our business. We serve top quality halal meat and vegetarian food items. Because of the quality, you may find we are a little higher priced than other Mediterranean restaurants in the area. When you compare the quality, you will understand. We welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

It was our first time having Lebanese food and therefore we had no idea what anything on the menu was. Our waitress was great and explained everything to us. All the food was very yummy and filling. The baklava was amazing! Also this place is in a good location near Reed's Lake. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Owner at Osta's Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Lebanese dining experience. Please join us again soon so you can try new, delicious food again. It's so flavorful and good for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osta's Lebanese Cuisine also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Kentwood, Kent County
 

Been to Osta's Lebanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing