We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Tapas”

San Chez a Tapas Bistro
Ranked #5 of 928 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Commerce
Transit: The Metro system of Grand Rapids called "The Rapid" has 6 lines that stop directly in front of 38 West Commerce. They are 1, 2, 3, 4, 14, 15.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really like tapas and they make some very tasty ones indeed. The variety may not be as vast as some in Chicago but they are very good non-the-less. My wife also has Gluten and Dairy restrictions and was able to find plenty to eat and share. They even have an EXCELLENT bread loaf that is Gluten free and extras were only $1. If you know anything about gluten free bread many times it is a far cry from excellent but not here! We even signed up for their patronage service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walkabout34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    216
    56
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My go-to place”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've celebrated every single birthday and anniversary since 1995 at San Chez. We had our engagement party here. Whenever I'm told to pick a restaurant, this is where we go. The atmosphere is charming, and I love that you & your party can order lots of small dishes and get a taste of so many different & delicious things. If you enjoy flavorful food that's different from the boring chain restaurants, you'll definitely want to dine here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zyberg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come with friends”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

San Chez has never disappointed me. The food is always adventuresome and flavorful, and you will want to come with a group to be able to sample as many small plates as possible. If you're looking for a romantic atmosphere this is not your place, as it is very popular, but if you're looking for a culinary adventure, don't miss it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“They made our daughter's birthday dinner something special”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This would be a good review anyway since our food was delicious but this is an extra special story because it was our daughter's 10th birthday and she wanted a special meal. She loves mussels and when she realized that they were only on the menu in a very specific dish, she was disappointed. She just wanted a plate of steamed mussels. Since we knew they had them in the kitchen we asked our server if she thought it was do-able to have a plate of steamed mussels. Next thing we know, the head chef is at the table saying that he heard there was a little girl at the table that loved mussels and wanted to know how he should best prepare them to her liking.....we were thrilled and so was she! She ate the whole plate. The rest of us ordered several Tapas dishes and they were all delicious and unique. This restaurant cares about what they are putting out there and that you are satisfied. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klgbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not authentic Spanish fare that is overpriced.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have eaten here 3 times. Comparing this to Madrid or Seville the food is not really recognizable as Spanish. The prices are out of proportion to the food. There are many better restaurants to enjoy in downtown GR for the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank synovitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Chez a Tapas Bistro also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to San Chez a Tapas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing