We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had high hopes”
Review of Charley's Crab

Charley's Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley's Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 1,018 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fulton
Description: A popular choice among fine-dining aficionados, Charley's Crab offers the freshest seafood and mouthwatering culinary creations. Combine the award-winning menu with our elegant décor and excellent service, and guests can expect an incomparable dining experience. As an added bonus, enjoy spectacular waterfront views at both of our locations.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Scheduled a birthday dinner for my husband 1 month in advance. We came from out of town and that night told "no tables available". I asked what the point of a reservation. They found a table, had menus set aside for the birthday boy. Had an isle table by the steps and told "oh we will move this dirty tray soon". Our waitress took our order, served our appetizer, never asked how it was. Served our soup, never asked how it was, served our salad, never asked how it was. Manager came by to ask how our evening was, told him and he apologized. Salmon was good but dry. Soup was yummy - clam chowder. My husband had the fish soup and it was not hot. Had our waitress came by she would have known. She just swooshed by and grabbed our plates. The highlight was leaving in a horse carriage ride.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank funtime210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very adequate brunch. Well balanced offering though I would like to have seen more seafood, what was there was good. My family, not seafood fans, were very happy with the choices and really enjoyed the desserts. Have been there several times, and will be back.

Date of visit: February 2014
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Sunday brunch was delicious, with a variety of foods and excellent service. I would have liked more seafood selections, such as hot salmon, oysters, and soup. The roundhouse beef is a great touch. Omelette bar, lots of smoked salmon (but no accompaniments like capers, sour cream), shrimp, and traditional brunch favorites. Dessert bar is varied.

Date of visit: February 2014
Thank thomps97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Dined on a Sunday at 11:45 without reservations. We enjoyed our meal very much. Service was attentive. The buffet is above the bar area, 4 different stations. It can get a bit crowded as its set up to encourage one long line. The food is excellent! Lots of choices all very well prepared. The only negative we talked about was that the tables are so close together. We sat in a small upper section of approximately 5 tables for 4 people and 5 booths. All the tables were in use but none of the booths. With all the "up & down" of a buffet everyone in our section kept bumping chairs into each other. There certainly was not a lot of chair room to get up and down comfortably.
If you are looking for a classy Sunday buffet, we would recommend Charley's Crab.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was my husband's and my first visit here. I loved the view of the river, and cannot wait to return to this restaurant in warmer weather with greener scenery. The service was excellent, the food was wonderful. We will definitely return!

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Crab also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Charley's Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing