We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch Buffet”
Review of Charley's Crab

Charley's Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley's Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 943 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fulton
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch Buffet”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I visited Charley's Crab in Grand Rapids as a Sunday brunch after a wedding Saturday. We were part of a large group and took up a big chunk of the far end of the restaurant. I noticed there was outdoor seating along the river which would be lovely! We were inside and the only negative of my experience is that it was freezing inside! The climate control desperately needed to be adjusted. This restaurant was more formal than casual. The servers were very prompt and polite. All of the food was delicious, especially their lavish desserts! Some parts of the buffet could have been labeled better, specifically their condiments like butter and cream cheese - I had to look twice. One major plus of the buffet was that there was a chef making fresh omelettes to order. I had one and it was phenomenal.
Overall, I would love to come back to this restaurant if the occasion was to present itself. I thought it was a great venue for a Sunday brunch after a wedding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schmeminemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    67
    50
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant is located on the Grand River and has outdoor seating to enjoy the view. The service and food were both excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steves_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“In-Laws Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently my brother and sister-in-laws got together to plan an evening out for my father and mother-in-laws birthday. Living 1,500 miles away you would think this would be difficult, but not with the help of GM Spencer and his excellent staff. They made the process simple and flawless! Though I wasn't there for the meal, I was there to receive the picture messages of the amazing food and got a detailed recap of their fabulous night from my mother-in-law. Even over the phone I could see her smile as it was strong in her voice. She talked about the spectacular food and exceptional service and how it was one of the best dining experiences they have had. Spencer and his staff went above and beyond to make them feel special and important right down to having the wine waiting on the table and a thoughtful "VIP" card reserving their spot. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area and if you aren't and are looking for somewhere to send loved ones, look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exquisite and Fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped by for the Early Bird which they now all the Sunset Selection. We were amazed as for $19.99 one has their choice of 6 or so entrees each item includes the choice of salad or soup and of a desert. Now, the taste portion is a bit smaller, but more than adequate for we seniors.
An excellent dining experience, again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Sunday brunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came for Sunday brunch and had a great time. Good and tasty offerings. Nice view and ambiance. Food selection was great. Lots of cooked food, sea food, salads, fruits and sushi. Enjoyed the very relaxing atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Crab also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Charley's Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing