We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as they used to be but still Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charley's Crab

Charley's Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley's Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 925 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fulton
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as they used to be but still Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went there for a late lunch and had the seafood trio. The warm bread was great. The waitress seemed rushed but was good and we got a table overlooking the water. The ambiance is still good however it seems to be showing its age. The food was good but not great overall. There may be better overall options for the price in the immediate area. I also had the lobster bisque and it was quite good and rich but not as hot as I would have liked and not much lobster meat in it. The dessert menu was ordinary with the traditional options, we passed on it. It was an enjoyable experience but not the wow it was in the past.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    62
    48
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overpriced for average food. The only positive is the location/ambiance. Their Sunday brunch is good, but I would not recommend going to dinner there for a special occasion, there are better restaurants in GR.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood Anyone????”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great service, excellent food. Make sure you make your reservations early for a special date. No reason for leaving hungry if you go here. The selection is great and you will find something you will enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindy324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I believe I was the last customer that Wednesday evening as I arrived into Grand Rapids late. I was there on business and really needed to relax and enjoy a nice meal after a long day of travel and meetings. Been here before with colleagues but this is my first review of this establishment.

This appears to be a well established restaurant and the location is right on the river close to the center of the city.

Sat at a high top close to the bar. Paul was my waiter and he did a great job in explaining to me the various beers (Founders) and Kentucky bourbons. Ended up with the Atlantic Salmon with potatoes and asparagus - it was done just right! No desert tonight but I'm sure it would have be great as well.

Thumbs up - will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayRay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Grand View of the Grand River with a Grand Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I ate here will I was attended a conference at the Amway Grand. Nice place for some private time and a pleasant meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pnedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Crab also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Charley's Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing