We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find words”
Review of Charley's Crab

Charley's Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley's Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 943 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fulton
Grand Rapids
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hard to find words”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is one fine spot for dining in this town. They hold to their reservations guarantee and provide excellent service with 'oh so fine' foods.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    66
    50
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday Buffet”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Terrific service, terrific selections. Everything from breakfast to Sunday dinner on the buffet, made-to-order omelets and eggs. Salmon, sushi, cheeses, fruit; mussels, squash soup (especially yummy). Hard to save room for the dessert table: brownies, creme brulee, pudding topped with brownie crumbs, and more. Pricey but a real 'special outing' treat complete with table linens and fine dinnerware.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Busser tray”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am not sure why but.... the waiter last Valentines day decided to pile up the rest of the restaurants dishes on a tray that was right next to our table. Not very appetizing. Poor service makes for bad taste in your mouth.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonstieglitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor excuse for seafood”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Of the three things I tried, only one (Oysters on the half shell) was marginally edible. The potatoes tasted like mold and I've never seen more over cooked Salmon, dry as sand.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had heard about Charley's Crab from friends and was excited to try it. I thought that it was ok. The locaton was great and the feel of the restaurant was nice, but my fish was little overcooked. I would go again to give it another chance.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Crab also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Charley's Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing