We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service has declined! Our server ate next to us!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westsider Cafe

The Westsider Cafe
Ranked #78 of 925 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: American, Polish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://grgrub.com/2010/01/06/westsider-menu-reflects-diverse-neighborhood/http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/154/1560697/restaurant/The-Westsider-Cafe-Grand-Rapids
Level Contributor
1 review
“Service has declined! Our server ate next to us!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've been eating here for a year. First visit, I saw all servers filling all customers coffees and clearin plates happliy. Over the year, we have seen a major decline. We can never get a refill of coffee until we ask. Our server actually sat at the table in front of us and ate her meal. No other server paid any attention to us, so we were confused. We sat with dirty plates for too long, empty drinks, and a bill. We weren't even done! Our guests wanted to order coffee after their meals. I am a server and a bartender and find it difficult to leave bad tips, but it was well deserved today! The worst part was our server sitting in front of us eating! At least have some common sense to sit where we can't see you let alone can touch you! Then I was passed my many servers while standing at the counter waiting to pay. A cook finally asked if I had been helped. We love the food, but hate having to tip for such poor service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hola_tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conklin, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great polish menu and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here since it opened a few years ago. The owners really care about he service and menu. Many of the menu items are just like home cooked meals.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LooksMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, MI
Level Contributor
274 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I lived on the west side years ago and we never had a great little restaurant when I resided in the area. This was my second trip to the Westsider cafe Food is superb and very well seasoned.
They have an eclectic menu and I can't wait to go back - although it is a 35 mile trip one way!
If there was a con my waitress was quite inattentive, had to flag her down to get a refill and to get to go containers.. They had plenty of staff so that was not the issue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Home Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place for breakfast or lunch. Flavorful, fresh cooking with very generous helpings. I love limp bacon and the have been pulled it off every time I have made the request. The potatoes are always fresh and not frozen. Nice family dining.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food is always good, we have dined here many times and its always been a great experience. There are some polish items on the menu that are always a pleasant diversion from the usual cafe fare. I have invited friends to join me several times and everyone always loves it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobdabobalabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Westsider Cafe also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
East Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to The Westsider Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing