We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites South
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night to go to a concert in Grand Rapids. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. It was very clean, and the beds were firm but comfortable. This hotel was very quiet, and the only sounds we heard the whole time were doors opening and closing. No voices, no highway.. we slept like babies! We did not use any of the amenities, but the lobby and breakfast area were very nice, and looked newly renovated. Mari and (I believe her name was) Sara were very friendly and helpful. I was extremely pleased with the whole place and would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcljb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    44
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
33
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would like to start by recognizing Mari, as she was truly a pleasure to know and provided excellent assistance. This hotel is quiet, clean and family friendly. Located right off the expressway, it is ideal for family weekend reunions. I will definitely return to this hotel when it is time for another family gathering.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 7 pm after having driven cross country most recently from St. Louis. We were checked in by a very pleasant gentleman who let us know they were in the middle of a renovation. He also informed us that the pool/spa would be open until midnight. A beautiful thing for this road weary traveler! The room was clean, comfortable and on top of it, they're pet friendly! Breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular, but a decent selection. The lady at check out was extremely nice and thanked us for staying with them. Based on this experience, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. There are some areas that appear a bit run down, but like they said, they're in the middle of a renovation. Highly recommend this hotel for a night or two! Very comfortable and great staff!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannosaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Fedorchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Such a pleasant experience from extremely quick check-in to delicious waffles at breakfast to efficient check out. This hotel was a very reasonable price for such a big room which including couch, refrigerator and microwave.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the waffles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for the third straight year. It has been clean, comfortable, quiet. We did notice that the a/c unit didn't stay on continuously - which is a nuisance. Not sure if it was just this particular room. We didn't use any of the hotel amenities like the pool or exercise room.

Not much fresh fruit available for the free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantsAnUpgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good location. Sets back away from expressway so you don't hear the traffic noise. Restaurants very close front desk has a listing. Very very clean and beds are great plus the rooms are very large. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family booked two rooms on a Friday night and were pleased with the size and quality of the rooms. Large bathrooms with lots of counter space and an excellent shower. The breakfast was wonderful, but they had run out of sausage gravy. The Internet connection is a bit iffy. On some of our devices the login screen did not come up so we couldn't connect. Location is convenient, right off 131.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
8.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#5 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South

Property: Comfort Suites South
Address: 7644 Caterpillar Ct SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® South is conveniently located just 10 miles south of downtown Grand Rapids on Highway 131. This Grand Rapids hotel is close to area attractions like the Van Andel Arena, Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center, the John Ball Zoo, the Gerald R. Ford Museum, the DeVos Place Convention Center and Grand Valley State University. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites South the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Pets are welcome for an additional fee. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites South is a great place to stay when visiting the Grand Rapids area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing