We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Remarkable

I noticed a tour group on the street while passing and was directed to their reception in the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
ABRP2014
,
Toronto, Canada
Stunning

This really is a magnificently restored Wright masterpiece. Steelcase has done the world a great... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
bryans752
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 400 reviews
  
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
349
43
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
43
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frank lloyd wright prairie style free tour restoration process flw house house tour heritage hill tour begins original glory beautiful restoration original state limited hours oak park introductory video short film visitor center stained glass
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 400 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

Lots of history very interesting! Docents were very knowledgeable. So great this is free to the Public!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kpmm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Originally visited the Meyer May House when I was a student at GRCC. Enjoyed it so much that I went back with my husband. Docent's were great and shared the history of both Meyer May and FLW.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

I went with a group of ladies to the May House. We had an excellent tour with a wonderful docent named Don. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank travelingqueen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

I've known about the Meyer May House for 30 years. This was our first visit. It is a great Frank Lloyd Wright home. The tour is also free! Next door is a wonderful office with a film on a loop and toilets.
The Meyer May House itself has been carefully restored. You really get a good feel for how a businessman might live in the early 20th century, particularly when his taste in homes was TOTALLY diferent than the taste of all of his neighbors (Queen Anne homes). The home tour was a great way to see both sides of housing in about 1910. The docents were knowledgeable. The grounds outside are also landscaped appropriately. This is a true gem of a public building.

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

The only dissapointment was not having staff to volunteer information when we booked. It would have been nice to get a personalized email of events not in the books. For example there was a home tour going on that was not in the books, or a reminder of the hours of the Frank L. Wright house next door. A concierge service makes the difference. Just getting away is an effort, planning a lost art, any guidance would be appreciated. The greeters did ask our professions, that bothered me, the last thing anyone wants to think about when traveling is their job or be asked something regarding it. A common mistake, at another place someone actually googled me when I declined to answer, a little invasive.
This place is a gem, beautiful to every detail, the common space welcoming, the breakfast hot -lovely, the baked goods awesome, antiques appropiate to the space, tasteful, well located, a beautiful area to walk in.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank rawcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews