We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful variety, beautifully maintained.”

Heritage Hill Historic District
Ranked #12 of 77 things to do in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful variety, beautifully maintained.”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I live across Lafayette, the western boundary of the Hill, so I walk there most days with my dogs and never stop being surprised by the houses themselves and the lovely gardens that the owners put so much work into. The Tour of Homes is the 3rd weekend in May and totally worth the price of the ticket to see the interiors of some of these big, well-loved century homes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Careygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somis, CA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Perfect Walk!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

stayed at the B&B, enjoyed walking through the neighborhood & even bought the history book about it. I will be back!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avocado-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Street to Street”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

When I first moved to GR this is the neighborhood I lived in. I came here in the wake of Hurricane Katrina so I really didn't have an awful lot to my name. This seemed to be at first glance a safe and beautiful neighborhood. After only a couple of days my bike got stolen from my garage. After 7 years things are definately looking better and better in this part of town but it still can be a little Janky.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank haggis9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Historic District perfect for walking”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I live in the historic district & love it; 2nd largest district in US with 1200 homes from 1860 to 1925 styles; was"the" place to live at turn of 1900 with great mansions and open spaces; great for walking and convenient to downtown GR

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Great Walk for Lovers of Old Homes”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the oldest designated historical district in the country! Has two Frank Lloyd Wrights, one being the unbeatable Meyer May home. Loads of grand homes, most very well taken care of.

Has its annual hosted tour in October, but you can pick up a free walking tour guide at their office and do it anytime.

Try to visit during the day - parts of it are sketchy (certainly not all). You can see the homes better then anyway!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisgrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Hill Historic District also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Heritage Hill Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing