We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great stay, just a few minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall a great stay, just a few minor issues”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

First a quick description of the room...we had a king bed room. The decor is upscale, the bed was really comfy. There was a nice arm chair with ottoman and a little side table. The desk was nice and big. The TV was large and updated...a flat screen. The closet was spacious there was a full length mirror. We had a mini fridge and small little countertop and overhead cabinet area (with a single cup coffee maker). The bathroom was nice, I loved the lighting. The shower was great...I thought I wouldn't like the no shower curtain or door design but I never once missed the curtain or door. The shower head pressure was perfect! The hotel itself was really clean and updated.

The lobby offered coffee and flavored water 24 hours a day (complimentary) and there was a microwave for use in the lobby as well ( I was traveling with my 1 year old and had to warm bottles). There was a little store where you could buy an assortment of snacks and drinks.

The pool was clean and well maintained...however, the tiles around the pool are dangerously slippery. My 4 year old fell a number of times.

we ordered room service on Sunday morning and we really enjoyed our breakfast and felt that we had plenty of food for the price. My mom and I split an omlete and we were both stuffed...there was more than enough food for two people on that plate. The kids meals were huge portions too...there is no way a kid would have finished all the food that came.

My only two issues are fairly situation specific and they don't really effect my overall experience with this hotel...
the bathroom door...while its a clever idea it was a poor design. The door does not latch shut, it can be pushed open unless it is locked from the inside...this is the design not a repair issue.
The A/C unit was not working properly...after a long day traveling and running around town we settled in Friday night to put my kids to bed and noticed the extremely loud noise that the A/C made...it sounded as if water were running...not just a trickle, a lot of water...and it squeaked. Also, there were puddles underneath the unit and there was some mold and moisture on the vent area. We put the kids to bed and I ran back out to run to a local home improvement store to get a fan to try and drown out the noise. We had already unpacked set up the pack n play etc, and did not want to move rooms. We made due with the noise and woke pretty tired Saturday morning. I put in a request Friday night for someone to take a look at the unit while were gone the next day and my mother followed up on the request as we left the next morning...when we returned we were told that the maint. man had been there and said that there was nothing wrong with the unit, that that was how it was supposed to sound...and he suggested we turn off the A/C if we did not like the noise...excuse me...it was 80 degrees and we stay in enough hotels (about 1 weekend every 6 weeks) to know that those in room units do not sound like that. I didn't complain any further,..we paid $50 a night through priceline so I didn't raise a ruckus but that unit needs to be fixed and the carpet needs to be cleaned due to water damage.

Overall I would stay there again...

Room Tip: Priceline...and if you get assigned room 322 check the A/C before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momma22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIPontiac, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It sounds like your really enjoyed your suite and all of the amenities our hotel offers. I understand our General Manager has already spoken with you regarding the air conditioning and looked into the issue. Please understand this is not typical for our property. We appreciate your willingness to share and look forward to having you stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    81
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
40
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I travel to Grand Rapids twice a month, and this is my "Grand Rapids" home. The hotel is well cared for, the rooms are well appointed, new flat screen TV's. Nice restaurant and bar. The King rooms have a unique shower set up that is very cool.

The staff are always very cheerful and helpful, I have never had a dissappointing stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howser57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGRR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Howser57 -

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are so excited to hear you call our hotel your "Home away from home". Our associates are the greatest assest of our hotel and we are so pleased that we've been able to provide you a great place to stay in Grand Rapids.

We look forward to having you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a very good property to stay at, espcially if you want to be near the airport. Located among countless well named resturants, though I ate in the hotel both for dinner and breakfast. I travel extensively and know a great place from the ones that scare ya! Hotel staff was friendly, room was nice, hotel parking secure and just an overall great experience. Traveling back to Grand Rapids, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGRR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Ken E -

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our restaurant. We truly pride ourselves on being "one of the great places" as you mentioned and not a "scary one".

Thank you again for your kind words and look forward to having you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is on the newer side with a spacious lobby and updated rooms. The desk staff was friendly and efficient. My room was very clean and best of all...this hotel is about 8 minutes from the Grand Rapids Airport!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGRR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Edconsult -

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on being the cleanest and friendliest hotel in the area so thank you for confirming that with your review.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you're in Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had our wedding block here and they had great prices and plenty of great nice clean rooms. Everyone said how great they hotel was! Then we also had our rehearsal dinner and a Sunday brunch here in their meeting room and catered by them, and everything was perfect! The rooms were great and set up beautiful, and the food was delicious! Great people to work with, great facility!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyter1mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGRR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear lyter1mp -

First of all, congratuations again on your recent marriaget, we wish you and your bride a lifetime of happiness. Secondly thank you for the raving review of our hotel and staff. We are so happy that you and your guests had a wonderful weekend and that our staff was able to assist with that. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids to be such a big part of your wedding day, we appreciate it and look forward to having you and your family back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This Hotel was located just a few miles to the Airport, and off the main road and easy to find. The check-in experience was quick, staff was friendly and I was impressed with the size and cleanlieness of the rooms.
One other nice feature of this Hotel property is that there is an "on-site" resturant with a good variety of items on their menue.

Room Tip: This Hotel is off the main road which provided for a quiet, restful, night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbraun1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGRR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear mjbraun1226 -

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and your time with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and were able to get a great night's rest. We are looking forward to your next trip to Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed four nights while in town for a wedding. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating! We were given a meeting room for a get-together at no charge. The rooms were suites with flat screen TV's and sitting areas. The breakfast area was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The rate was incredible! I'm not easily impressed, and this is one impressive hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a group, ask for a special rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSU1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGRR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear LSU1976 -

Thank you so much for your kind words about your experience at our property earlier this month. We are delighted that you had such a great time at our hotel and are happy to provide you and the rest of your friends and family this service.

We look forward to having you back with us next time you are in Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#26 of 48 in Grand Rapids
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
Address: 3063 Lake Eastbrook Blvd SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Grand Rapids, where business and leisure travelers receive award winning service at the cleanest hotel in the area. You'll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Grand Rapids. Exceptional hospitality and excitement are waiting for you here. We are located just minutes from downtown and situated only 3 miles from Gerald R Ford International airport, we are the perfect place to get a great night's rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport Hotel Kentwood
Holiday Inn Kentwood
Kentwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing