We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Felt brand new....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Felt brand new....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I typically stay at Hilton and honestly never tried a Spring hill Suites until my last two night stay for business.

Very clean room, excellent staff, and close to restaurants and entertainment. Parking was free and ample. There is no restaurant on site and breakfast is continental and left room for improvement in the hot items. Fitness center has three pieces of cardio equipment, so better off running outside when the weather is right. Ample sidewalks along the road the hotel sits on and light hills.

Overall a nice hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akinney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
A Kinney,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at our property. I was particularly happy to hear you experienced the clean rooms and excellent service our hotel takes great pride in providing all our guests.
Starting July 1st our breakfast will be completely overhauled and our food offerings will double. This is a change you will experience throughout the Springhill Suites brand and should be a welcome change from your current breakfast. We look forward to your next stay and hearing feedback on this new upgraded breakfast.
Thank you again for your kind comments, we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    71
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
20
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
380 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights while in town for work. The hotel sits behind a shopping area. My room was quiet and clean. Looks like a recent remodel to the facility. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was typical fare, although one extra nice feature for me was the single serve Soy milk in the fridge during breakfast! Haven't seen that before for those of us that avoid dairy in hotels.

The exercise room is very basic and small-2 treadmills, 1 elipitical and not much room to do anything else. I used the treadmill and it was fine. The pool looked clean.

There are some places to eat close by-mainly chains. I went downtown for one meal. There is a Panera less than a mile away and also a starbucks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
David and Kim,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay. We were happy to hear you were able to utilize our fitness center and recognized the pride we take in keeping our pool clean and inviting.
I am pleased to announce that starting in July our breakfast will undergo a complete overhaul and offer several additional upgraded offerings like fresh spinach, salsa, additional sweat breads, expanded oatmeal toppings, cold cut deli meat and cheese Monday-Friday. It’s a pleasure to offer guests a variety of food options including Silk Milk.
Again thank you for your kind review of our renovated and modernized hotel. We take great pride in providing exceptional service and accommodations are pleased to hear you experienced both. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our intention was to spend the holiday weekend on the beaches of lake Michigan. As most probably know, hotels are pricey on the water this time of year. We opted to stay on the west side of Grand Rapids and commute to the water. This hotel was perfect for that. 30 minutes and boom, you were there. Springhill Suites was super clean and very friendly. The staff was top notch and everyone must enjoy their jobs. Cause it showed. Rooms were a great size and worked very well with our 5 member family. Breakfast was wonderful also. Only downfall was the hot tub that was not in service. I found out from the front desk that the ADA regulations stated it needed a hoist lift and its present tub location couldn't fit one. So, Hot tub is done there. You can go next door to their sister hotel and use theirs. All in all. I WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birchtreefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Birchtreefan,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. It is true our location is ideal for travelers looking to enjoy the lake shore and not pay the prices of those lake shore hotels. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service and I am delighted to hear you experienced that during your stay.
I agree that the loss of our hot tub is unfortunate however we take pride in keeping out indoor pool comfortable and a place for families to relax. We also have rooms with jetted tubs in them so if you’re ever back in Grand Rapids I might recommend that as an alternative to a public hot tub.
Thank you again for your kind review, we look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had not stayed at a Springhill Suites before so was pleasantly surprised. The suite was spacious and comfortable and well appointed for work and rest. A decent breakfast and welcoming, accommodating staff made for a pleasant 3 night stay. There are places to eat very close by and downtown is a short taxi ride away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Biztravr,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your most recent stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service and accommodations and I was happy to hear you experienced both.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids, Beer City USA!
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
532 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It is your typical Sprinhhill Suites very consistant clean, large rooms and friendly staff. A little ways from Grand Rapids and the better brew puds and places to eat. It sits back from the road so it is quite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mike W.,
On behalf of the entire staff of the SpringHill Suites North I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. I was delighted to share your comments with our staff and to read that you found both our location and rooms to be satisfactory.
Again, we are delighted to hear your enjoyed yoru stay and look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids!
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I realized today after staying at this location numerous times that I haven't reviewed the property. As mentioned by other reviewers, the price to stay here is a little high compared to other near by properties. I have found that if you ask you might be able to negotiate a lower price. As far as the fitness center issues that have been mentioned, I don't find it to be quite as bad as mentioned. There are two treadmills, an elliptical, and free weights. All weights above 25lbs are missing from the rack. This should be addressed. If you are a hardcore exercise guru that needs more than this, you must realize this is a fitness center and not your local gym. If you need more than this you should be at the Marriott, JW, or Courtyard downtown. My stays have always been pleasant and the employees have been friendly. Breakfast is typical for a Springhill. The rooms have always been clean.

A side note, there are many great local restaurants within 15 minutes. Don't settle for the fair chain restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank regionaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Regionaltraveler,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your most recent stay. It sounds like you are both a seasoned traveler and a frequent guest of ours. We appreciate your patronage and honest review of your stay.
I have been working with a company to build up our selection of free weights and please be assured it has been a priority for several months to bring in quality weights our guests will enjoy using. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review myself and the entire staff appreciates receiving valued guest feedback.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids!
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Typical Springhill Suites, clean rooms, recently updated and convenient to freeways, although it sits way back off Alpine and would be difficult to find after dark. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, again...typical Springhill experience. $159/night for its location seemed pricey to me, as there is not much but restaurants and retail in the area. HI Express next door was $40 cheaper, but I try to book Marriott for the points. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waylontdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Mr. Waylontdog,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your latest stay in Grand Rapids. As a senior contributor to Trip Advisor you opinion and feedback is very valuable and appreciated.
I understand the rate seemed a bit pricey however I can assure you for a newly removed Marriott property with the proximity to downtown and shopping/dining our prices are competitive for this market. I cannot speak for the HI Express next door that has not been newly renovated.
We hope that you will still consider us as an option with looking for accommodations in Grand Rapids in the future. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we hope to see you soon.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
#13 of 50 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids N/Walker
10.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Property: SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North
Address: 450 Center Dr NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544-8227
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing